[Offer] XP Pro/Home to MCE 2005 converter

Download requests and offers should be made in this forum.
Do not request a download if you have under 10 posts. You will be ignored.
Forum rules
Please read the following rules before posting a download request in this area:

1. Don't post a request if you have under 10 posts as stated in the rules. If you do anyway, it will be deleted without further notice.
2. Requests for anything against our rules will not be entertained and you will be warned.
3. Check that we don't already have the file on our FTP servers by using the database linked in the navigation.
Post Reply
James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

[Offer] XP Pro/Home to MCE 2005 converter

Post by James »

I have this disc that I got a few months ago, it completely turns your system into Media Center Edition.

The ISO will be uploaded soon.

Instructions:

1. Put the disc in
2. Run the setup
3. Install .NET Framework (if not there already)
4. Install MCE 2005
5. Reboot with the CD in the drive (burnit if needed)
6. Let BartPE do its thing
7. Boot into XP
8. Install Pre-Rollup 2 Updates
9. Install Rollup 2 updates
(Optional): 10. Run the XBOX 360 Users setup
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

Leon
Donator
Posts: 551
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:52 am

Post by Leon »

I'm interested....

James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

Post by James »

UPDATE: This requires XP Professional, if you use XP Home, it will not work, it will BSoD apon reboot from BartPE, and then you wont get the MCE 05.

Apologies,
WildEye
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

4512jth
Donator
Posts: 556
Joined: Sun May 18, 2008 3:04 am
Location: Minnesota, USA

Post by 4512jth »

Me wantz please

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

WildEye001 wrote:UPDATE: This requires XP Professional, if you use XP Home, it will not work, it will BSoD apon reboot from BartPE, and then you wont get the MCE 05.

Apologies,
WildEye
Don't worry. Most of us paid/downloaded extra when buying XP to get the Professional.
Image

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

You can actually use a method of using the original files that allows you to install it on any XP/2003 SKU (and a guide for the Tablet PC components too). I can rewrite the guide at some point and post it, since the guide isn't written in great english.

win98
Donator
Posts: 936
Joined: Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by win98 »

Is this going on the offical server?

mrpijey
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 8239
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm
Contact:

Post by mrpijey »

No. Microsoft Windows XP Professional and Media Center is still an active and retail product, so any tools aiding in cracking, hacking or unauthorized changing the product into another will not be distributed through this forum.

BETAArchive is a forum centered around betas, not warez. The Windows XP product line is considered to be warez.

Links to software aiding in cracking, hacking or modifying a retail product into another will also not be tolerated (read the rules, section 7).
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Channels: Discord :: Twitter

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Also, there's some registry hive on the install CD that you can edit in the Home Edition versions that will make it install Pro
Image

InsaneNutter
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am
Location: Yorkshire, England
Contact:

Post by InsaneNutter »

I have that CD and it worked great for a few months, however if you download all the updates on Windows Update it will no longer detect TV tuners installed on that PC. I dont use it anymore but ive got a friend who’s still using it.

MugenFox
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am
Location: With Waldo

Post by MugenFox »

I have this as well and it does work, but you have to install updates manually. You have to extract the executable files and put the updates where they are supposed to go. The updates that are in the .ISO are the only ones that can be installed from the file. Other than this small problem, my installation runs great.

supreme win3x

Post by supreme win3x »

I'm interressed.

CompMan117

Post by CompMan117 »

im also interested.

betafan1984

Post by betafan1984 »

me too

MugenFox
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 994
Joined: Tue Apr 15, 2008 12:13 am
Location: With Waldo

Post by MugenFox »

Am I allowed to upload it? If I am give me a day or two and I'll put it on the server and RS.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Uploading it to this server is NOT ALLOWED as mrpijey already said.

XP is still an active product and considered warez.

And this method does not work well on every version.
If you update you can reinstall your computer within 24 hours because it brakes your windows.
It still detects its as a professional version not tablet or media center.

And there are enough torrents (no i dont give) with those version that doent need this converter.

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 748
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Post by DBlake »

yes this is cool, but it is also pretty illegal, considering it includes the Plus! Pack for XP too.

Post Reply