Windows XP Boot Screen Location

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
Post Reply
Daniel1981
Donator
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Windows XP Boot Screen Location

Post by Daniel1981 »

I want to know something... Where is the Windows XP Boot Screen File is located???

Thanks

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

ntoskrnl.exe / ntkrnlmp.exe

Daniel1981
Donator
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Post by Daniel1981 »

Thank you very much...

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

You are welcome

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

To change it manually, you will need a resource editor and a program that can read 16 colours.

The basic layout is readable, but the otherones (the rolling bar and other names) are black if you use a program that doesnt support 16 colours.

I know that paint doesnt do the job even if you save it the correct way.

Daniel1981
Donator
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Post by Daniel1981 »

So, which program do you recommends???

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Boot-Logo 1.17 is useful.

Daniel1981
Donator
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Post by Daniel1981 »

No... It doesnt help here...
Some other program?

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Paint Shop Pro, you must download the 16 colour pallete seperatly.
Avaible as trial.

Daniel1981
Donator
Posts: 411
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 10:09 am

Post by Daniel1981 »

OK, I changed the NTOSKRNL file, but, everytime I do a rese to my pc the file restores to the original state... what can I do?

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Well do these steps:

1) Open the NTOSKRNL.EXE and save it to the desktop (do not directly edit it).

2) Change the version on the desktop to what you like.

3) Boot into SAFE-MODE (Press F8 before GUI boot)

4) Rename the NTOSKRNL.EXE to NTOSKRNL.BAK

5) Move or Copy the file NTOSKRNL.EXE from the desktop to the Windows\System32 folder.

6) Reboot

7) See your edit now.


What do i need to do this in safe mode?
Because then the file-system protect is not active, it is in normal operation mode.

Vista tip:
For the people who already knew that there was a different bootscreen when booting from a hibernate state, this is how you can activate it on Vista on normal GUI boot.

1) Start
2) Run --> msconfig
3) Click yes in the UAC warning.
4) Go to computer startup tab.
5) Click the NO GUI BOOT on.
6) Reboot, and there is your bootscreen.

On some versions it will says, Windows is starting...., on some not, dont ask why, it does so.

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Daniel1981 wrote:OK, I changed the NTOSKRNL file, but, everytime I do a rese to my pc the file restores to the original state... what can I do?
easier way: Replacer 2.63

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Easier way still: search your C:\ drive for NTOSKRNL.EXE and replace the other instances of it other than the one in system32 with your new version first Be careful though, as if you mess the file up you won't be able to boot Windows any more.
Image

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Well, the easiest way is to replace it in system32\dllcache and then in system32

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Well, plenty of Idea's here .

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Daniel wrote:Well, the easiest way is to replace it in system32\dllcache and then in system32
It may also be in Windows\ServicePackFiles\i386 and/or c:\i386 depending on if you have applied a service pack or have an OEM pre-install too, so best to run a search just to be sure
Image

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

... ur use the script I posted above, since it backs up the files

Gamma
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm
Location: Earth

Post by Gamma »

A good free resource editor would be resource hacker, but it can't edit the vista boot animation, which is in authui.dll. And bootskins works well for changing the bootscreen, but it occasionally gave me the Bluescreen of Death... But I hope you acommplish whatever you were trying to do!

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

gammainfection wrote:A good free resource editor would be resource hacker, but it can't edit the vista boot animation, which is in authui.dll. And bootskins works well for changing the bootscreen, but it occasionally gave me the Bluescreen of Death... But I hope you acommplish whatever you were trying to do!
Forget resourse hacker, the XN Resource Editor is better, more options and no trouble reading vista files.


And just do it in the way with te safe-mode, just needs in total 3 reboots before you always have a backup of the original one and doesnt require other programs.

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

I find eXeScope is good. It's just that it's shareware so you get limitations.
Image

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

I use PE Explorer. Its pretty good

Gamma
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:31 pm
Location: Earth

Post by Gamma »

Forget resourse hacker, the XN Resource Editor is better, more options and no trouble reading vista files.


And just do it in the way with te safe-mode, just needs in total 3 reboots before you always have a backup of the original one and doesnt require other programs.
Hmm... I'll check if it's free...

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

The XN Resource Editor is free.


Here:
http://www.btinternet.com/~wilsoncpw/xn ... _setup.exe

Post Reply