Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Discuss Windows Vista/Server 2008 to Windows 10.
Post Reply
ActivateYourTech
User avatar
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:43 pm

Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by ActivateYourTech »

Hi,

I have recently been wondering about getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683. My first attempt didn't quite go to plan, as I thought that replacing winnt.exe from the winnt.exe of Windows XP (SP3 Pro) would work. This didn't quite go to plan, as when I inserted a Windows 98 boot floppy, and put my new CD in the CD Drive (D:), and tried to launch winnt.exe, it would say "Bad command or file name." I also tried to replace winnt32.exe, winnt32 help file, and a winnt32 package installer, yet it did not help. I also checked on the CD to make sure that the files were there, and they were.
Image
If anyone knows how to fix it, please can you tell me?

Thanks
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1Fnst ... S4VItVozOg
Fav OSes (In Order): Windows 7, (I use it) 8.1 (I also use it), Vista, XP.
Betas that I like (not in order): 4001, 4074, 5060, 9431, 8012.101, 8250, 8400, 6936 9926, 2296, 2419, 1835, 5112, 5308, 5384
I'm not a big fan Windows 10/11

Lucas Brooks
FTP Access
Posts: 771
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am
Contact:

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by Lucas Brooks »

You can patch the original executable or use a debugger to jump to the actual code in the main function. The actual code is in there but it's not referenced by anything (which is a weird thing considering it's compiled by a C compiler, they must've edited the assembly language output).

Xeno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 54
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by Xeno »

Are you 100% sure the file exists? I just swapped 3683's winnt with 2600 RTM and I had no issues

ActivateYourTech
User avatar
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:43 pm

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by ActivateYourTech »

Xeno wrote:
Mon Jan 16, 2023 1:01 pm
Are you 100% sure the file exists? I just swapped 3683's winnt with 2600 RTM and I had no issues
I checked again, and it was there. Also, I put some other files as a last resort, and they showed up, yet they refused to open.
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1Fnst ... S4VItVozOg
Fav OSes (In Order): Windows 7, (I use it) 8.1 (I also use it), Vista, XP.
Betas that I like (not in order): 4001, 4074, 5060, 9431, 8012.101, 8250, 8400, 6936 9926, 2296, 2419, 1835, 5112, 5308, 5384
I'm not a big fan Windows 10/11

xelloss
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 377
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:26 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by xelloss »

ActivateYourTech wrote:
Sun Jan 15, 2023 4:39 pm
Hi,

I have recently been wondering about getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683. My first attempt didn't quite go to plan, as I thought that replacing winnt.exe from the winnt.exe of Windows XP (SP3 Pro) would work. This didn't quite go to plan, as when I inserted a Windows 98 boot floppy, and put my new CD in the CD Drive (D:), and tried to launch winnt.exe, it would say "Bad command or file name."
That's highly unusual, because that error message means that the system hasn't even tried running winnt.exe, because it couldn't find it. So you shouldn't really try to get winnt.exe to work, but you should understand why the system on your bootdisk cannot find it.

MyFaceNeverWhen
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2022 12:22 am
Location: Canada

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by MyFaceNeverWhen »

ActivateYourTech wrote:
Sun Jan 15, 2023 4:39 pm
Hi,

I have recently been wondering about getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683. My first attempt didn't quite go to plan, as I thought that replacing winnt.exe from the winnt.exe of Windows XP (SP3 Pro) would work. This didn't quite go to plan, as when I inserted a Windows 98 boot floppy, and put my new CD in the CD Drive (D:), and tried to launch winnt.exe, it would say "Bad command or file name." I also tried to replace winnt32.exe, winnt32 help file, and a winnt32 package installer, yet it did not help. I also checked on the CD to make sure that the files were there, and they were.
Image
If anyone knows how to fix it, please can you tell me?

Thanks
SP3's winnt.exe might be incompatible with 3683, try RTM's one.
Nerdiest nerd of the FTP Access-only town in Nerdana.

Emulators and Hypervisors I use
86Box for early versions of Windows, Intel Apple Rhapsody, OS/2 pre-3.0, DOS, etc.
VMware Workstation for later versions of Windows (sometimes early versions), Intel macOS, OS/2 post-3.0, etc.
Mini vMac for System Software pre-7.x
Basilisk II for Mac OS 7.x-8.1
SheepShaver for Mac OS 7.x-9
QEMU for later PPC Mac OS, Windows RT, etc.

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2383
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by AlphaBeta »

It wouldn't complain about bad command or file name if the executable was incompatible.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

MyFaceNeverWhen
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2022 12:22 am
Location: Canada

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by MyFaceNeverWhen »

Or It could just be an intentional complaint injected into the code...

ActivateYourTech, If winnt.exe is genuinely in the ISO, then are you able to send said ISO where you're doing this experiment (including configuration of VM)?
Nerdiest nerd of the FTP Access-only town in Nerdana.

Emulators and Hypervisors I use
86Box for early versions of Windows, Intel Apple Rhapsody, OS/2 pre-3.0, DOS, etc.
VMware Workstation for later versions of Windows (sometimes early versions), Intel macOS, OS/2 post-3.0, etc.
Mini vMac for System Software pre-7.x
Basilisk II for Mac OS 7.x-8.1
SheepShaver for Mac OS 7.x-9
QEMU for later PPC Mac OS, Windows RT, etc.

ActivateYourTech
User avatar
Posts: 131
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2021 1:43 pm

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by ActivateYourTech »

I have provided the following things in this link (to Google Drive):
The whole folder which the VM is in
The ISO which I am using

Link (I don't have FTP access, plus it isn't allowed on the server)
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/ ... SgHd9OAq6Z
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC1Fnst ... S4VItVozOg
Fav OSes (In Order): Windows 7, (I use it) 8.1 (I also use it), Vista, XP.
Betas that I like (not in order): 4001, 4074, 5060, 9431, 8012.101, 8250, 8400, 6936 9926, 2296, 2419, 1835, 5112, 5308, 5384
I'm not a big fan Windows 10/11

MyFaceNeverWhen
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 34
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2022 12:22 am
Location: Canada

Re: Getting winnt.exe to work on Windows Longhorn build 3683

Post by MyFaceNeverWhen »

Apparently WINNT.EXE exists in the ISO but cannot be read with the Windows 98 bootdisk I use.

Image
Image

As well as this the files do not have extensions.
Nerdiest nerd of the FTP Access-only town in Nerdana.

Emulators and Hypervisors I use
86Box for early versions of Windows, Intel Apple Rhapsody, OS/2 pre-3.0, DOS, etc.
VMware Workstation for later versions of Windows (sometimes early versions), Intel macOS, OS/2 post-3.0, etc.
Mini vMac for System Software pre-7.x
Basilisk II for Mac OS 7.x-8.1
SheepShaver for Mac OS 7.x-9
QEMU for later PPC Mac OS, Windows RT, etc.

Post Reply