How often do you scan for viruses?

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

How often do you scan for viruses?

Post by Beta Freak »

I was wondering how often everybody here does.
I do a quick scan once a day, and a full scan once a week.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12628
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Never I dont even have anti-virus or a firewall installed. Seriously.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Andy wrote:Never I dont even have anti-virus or a firewall installed. Seriously.
I don't have AV installed either - contrary to popular belief it's relatively difficult to get viruses if you take a few reasonable precautions, and if I did get one I reckon I would notice pretty quickly anyway. I haven't had a virus in 8 years of owning a computer, and AV stuff clogs up your PC so much that you're better off without it I have the standard XP firewall enabled, and the wireless router at home and the network here at uni have firewalls, but I wouldn't bother with special software or anything like that.
Image

glbanksitter
FTP Access
Posts: 60
Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 5:01 am
Location: 127.0.0.1 ( Coshocton, Ohio , Really )
Contact:

Post by glbanksitter »

I do a full system scan once a month. Individual files coming from.... questionable sources.... get scanned before they're opened.

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

1 time a week. NOD32 antivirus monitor is running in background
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

ppc_digger
Donator
Posts: 590
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am
Location: Israel

Post by ppc_digger »

Usually never. I run Linux. I do have AVG on my Windows installation, and it's set to scan daily, but my PC runs Windows so rarely that it almost never scans.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

My machines running Winodws have AVG set to run permanently in the background, but I never do a full scan. My Linux/Unix/MacOSX machines have no virus-scanning software installed. Firewall is on on every machine.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i have AVG installed and Sygate personal firewall. I scan occasionally, and like glbanksitter i scan some select files sometimes .

Andy how do you survive ? all those security firms say that within like 10mins your computer would be compromised with no firewall and/or antivirus (i think is bullshit, especially when your computer is up to date).

Although I know some people that there computers are fudged with in a few days (if that) of formating.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

all those security firms say that within like 10mins your computer would be compromised with no firewall and/or antivirus (i think is bullshit, especially when your computer is up to date).
I once set up a machine with Windows 2000 SP4, didn't apply any patches, didn't install any AV or firewall and connected it directly to the internet without a router, so it was completely unprotected. It didn't even take 15mins and I noticed some weird processes popping up in the ProcessExplorer...

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

___ wrote:Andy how do you survive ? all those security firms say that within like 10mins your computer would be compromised with no firewall and/or antivirus (i think is bullshit, especially when your computer is up to date).
I think the thing that is always said is that an unpatched XP (ie Gold) connected directly to the internet will be hacked within a few minutes - whether it actually would be I don't know.

I will never use AV junk though - the security firms would have you think viruses just jump out at you from all over the place, but in fact they don't at all. Companies like Symantec just spread all this FUD and even do things like try to stop Windows becoming "too secure", so they can keep persuading people who believe their FUD that they really need to spend £50 a year on their latest Norton Internet Security bloatware, with its huge quantity of background processes and Ram usage. They pay OEMs loads of cash to preinstall the trial on new PCs, then when people get messages a few months later saying they need to pay or their computer will be "at risk" or whatever, they're scared into paying for that stuff. Honestly, I'd rather have a virus than something like that - probably easier to uninstall a virus too!
Image

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

nortons is a virus

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

never, Avast is running in the tray in all the pcs
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

virus

Post by Gnome »

i do it about once every 5 months or so
i dont need to scan mine that ofen i have a router with a firewall and it works really well

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

A firewall is not a 100% protection against virii, FYI...

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

better than nothing. and if it is kept up to date then i think it is rather safe to think you will be ok. Unless it is the virus from terminator 3

Locked