June 2008 Desktops

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

June 2008 Desktops

Post by happy dude »

Sunday, 1 June 2008
8:55AM

Image

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

OSx86:

Image

Image

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

Image

Vista Business (x64)

19:58 Today

James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

Post by James »

Image


Damn, it is just past midnight here in Tampa.

P.S: This is my second Hardy Heron installtion today. I had to reinstall after KDE 3.5 screwed over my Ubuntu
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Image

mdogg
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 954
Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am
Location: My house

Post by mdogg »

Mac Desktop (eMac)
Image
Mac Laptop (PowerBook G4)
Image
PC Desktop (Asus P5VD2-VM SE)
Image

merty
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 386
Joined: Sun Aug 27, 2006 11:03 am
Location: Australia

Post by merty »

My Desktop (Sempron)
Image

My Laptop (Lenovo C200)
Image

James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

Post by James »

Regarding my post:

what happened was:

I installed KDE 3.5 on my Ubuntu 8.04 System (Hardy Heron) and after I rebooted, the entire GUI failed, and I could get to anything on my machine. So I just reinstalled it.
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

callumh
User avatar
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: teen4m.net
Contact:

Post by callumh »

Image

Why anything else?

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Here's my Windows side: installed the free copy of Ultimate (x64) as a fresh installation and moved all my files and settings over to it in the last couple of weeks:

Image

There doesn't actually seem to be that much in Ultimate that isn't in Business though, despite it being a lot more expensive!

By the way, I installed on my new hard drive and now get 5.9 for disk as opposed to the 5.6 I always got in Business on the other drive, despite them being near-identical 500 GB things. Also CPU went up from 5.4 to 5.5 after installing this month's ATI drivers, weird!
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Image

m4rkuz
FTP Access
Posts: 458
Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2007 9:21 pm

Post by m4rkuz »

My Desk

Image

2x 19" TFT Dualmonitor

InsaneNutter
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am
Location: Yorkshire, England
Contact:

Post by InsaneNutter »

Mine

Image

callumh
User avatar
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: teen4m.net
Contact:

Post by callumh »

InsaneNutter wrote:Mine

Image
RocketDock is awesome
I use it more than the start menu

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Image

InsaneNutter
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 224
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:25 am
Location: Yorkshire, England
Contact:

Post by InsaneNutter »

callumh wrote: RocketDock is awesome
I use it more than the start menu
It’s not actually RocketDock, it’s the free version of ObjectDock.
I’ve just googled RocketDock and it looks nice how you can minimise stuff to it

callumh
User avatar
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: teen4m.net
Contact:

Post by callumh »

InsaneNutter wrote:
callumh wrote: RocketDock is awesome
I use it more than the start menu
It’s not actually RocketDock, it’s the free version of ObjectDock.
I’ve just googled RocketDock and it looks nice how you can minimise stuff to it
Ah okay. But I turned that feature off as I'm not used to this sort of functionality, so find it a wee bit annoying when I'm looking in the taskbar for the app that I just minimised (not forgetting I've got a 22" monitor and there isn't any space left for more icons )

RocketDock and your screenshot of ObjectDock look very similar anyway.

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

Image
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

zchri9
Donator
Posts: 298
Joined: Mon Jun 04, 2007 9:51 am

Post by zchri9 »

My desktop taken just then.
Image

NAX
FTP Access
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:58 pm

Post by NAX »

Image

RocketDock for the win ^^

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Image

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

emperium: Version 10.6?

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

I'm guessing someone's been playing with SystemVersion.plist (or else he works for Apple...)
Image

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

aaand since I forgot to put it in the last post, emperium, could you please upload that wallpaper, please?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:I'm guessing someone's been playing with SystemVersion.plist (or else he works for Apple...)
You got it, I work for Apple. No, no, just a bit of playing with SystemVersion.plist. After all, 10.6 is said to potentially drop PowerPC support...

@happy dude
Image

Locked