The RAM upgrade

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

The RAM upgrade

Post by Andy »

Just upgraded the RAM in the server as you might have noticed. Has anyone noticed a speed difference at all?

Deathwarder
FTP Access
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Post by Deathwarder »

definitly better

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Deathwarder wrote:definitly better
Brilliant The server started acting a little slow this end before the upgrade so I wasnt sure if you noticed it your end. Im local so the site loads quicker anyway.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Yes, for me the site loads a bit quicker as well. Definitely noticable.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

empireum wrote:Yes, for me the site loads a bit quicker as well. Definitely noticable.
Excellent. And to think I stole the RAM from this pc as well! I only have 512MB left now.

Deathwarder
FTP Access
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Post by Deathwarder »

you think you did? Its your computer

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Deathwarder wrote:you think you did? Its your computer
Re-read that Its not worded the way you think

Deathwarder
FTP Access
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Post by Deathwarder »

I don't get it

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Deathwarder wrote:I don't get it
Nevermind

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

can't say i notice any speed differences (probably cause im on the other side of the world and not close enough to notice)

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

It feels more responsive, which is always good
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

Deathwarder
FTP Access
Posts: 260
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 2:06 am

Post by Deathwarder »

Andy wrote:
Deathwarder wrote:I don't get it
Nevermind
Please, tell me what you meant

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

It was sarcasm, "And to think that I took the RAM from this pc for the server. Cheek!" Hope you understand now.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

hi

Post by Gnome »

are you going to upgrade stuff like the processor or the network or the hdd

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: hi

Post by Andy »

toshua123 wrote:are you going to upgrade stuff like the processor or the network or the hdd
Why would I want to?

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

if u upgrade stuff you will find the performance will get better for acsessing this website

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

The performance already is great.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

toshua123 wrote:if u upgrade stuff you will find the performance will get better for acsessing this website
The server isnt even under an average of 30% load yet. It doesn't need upgrading. Also, I know a fair amount more about hosting a server than you If I didnt I wouldn't be hosting this one

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

ok so i am beaten in the area but i have a good server as well
i am a good computer builder i have made to comps and one server
Last edited by Gnome on Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

toshua123 wrote:ok so i am beaten in the area but i have a good server as well
I have 3 good servers And more will come soon when I need extra power and storage.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

i think msn could use with anouther server lol

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

toshua123 wrote:i think msn could use with anouther server lol
Definately. BTW I added you.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

wht do you mean

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@Andy
Do you happen to know the average power consumption of your servers?

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

toshua123 wrote:wht do you mean
On MSN, I added you from your e-mail address.

Locked