Does Windows XP have EFI?

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

dblwood wrote:Do you know which x86 version may work?
I don't know - I only tested WinXP 32-bit with boot.ini with files from version 5219
Try maybe Longhorn (6.0.5384.4) (beta2) x86

dblwood
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:30 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by dblwood »

someone said "The one from 5270 x86 is already incompatible with NT 5.x kernel, it won't even load" (page 2).

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

dblwood wrote:someone said "The one from 5270 x86 is already incompatible with NT 5.x kernel, it won't even load" (page 2).
I checked version 5384.4 x86 and supports BCD but does not start WinXP - error winload.efi 0xc0000002
Then maybe try 5231 or 5259

or maybe with winload.efi 5270 and boot.ini booting from GPT will work?
Hyoenmadan86 wrote:You may try Beta 2 files. I hexchecked them, and the efi bootmanager still seems have the NOBCD boot.ini support and the USENEWLOADER switch compiled on.
or maybe some beta Longhorn Server 2008 supports BCD and GPT and will boot WinXP?

dblwood
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:30 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by dblwood »

Thank you for testing 5384.4 x86, at least this confirms BCD instead of BOOT.ini able to load GPT winload.efi

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

dblwood wrote:I have used your DUET IA32 image to boot, the same as Clover-IA32, XP 32-bit on a GPT disk unable to load - boot.ini error
I tested winload.efi 5219 on a GPT partition in VMware under EFI32 and there is no boot.ini error but Windows Boot Manager doesn't see the entry:

My .vmx disk config:
ide0:0.fileName = "MBR.vmdk" or ide0:0.fileName = "GPT.vmdk"
ide0:1.fileName = "FAT32.vmdk"

My boot.ini (I added two lines to always display the menu):

Code: Select all

[boot loader]
timeout=30
default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[operating systems]
C:\="==================================="
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS="WinXP from UEFI + CSM (winload.efi)" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect /usenewloader
C:\="==================================="
Boot from MBR partition - WinXP boot:
Image

Boot from GPT partition - WinXP not boot:
Image

dblwood
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 11:30 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by dblwood »

I did not add two lines "==========", so directly got Boot.ini error "does not contain a valid OS entry". It should be the same issue - the 5219 bootmgr can not understand the GPT entry

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

dblwood wrote:I did not add two lines "==========", so directly got Boot.ini error "does not contain a valid OS entry". It should be the same issue - the 5219 bootmgr can not understand the GPT entry
Yes, then there is error 0xc0000098:
Image

erterte4f
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 25, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by erterte4f »

Can someone please draw an interim resume:
what succeeds and fails in an attempt to load Windows XP in EFI mode?
In both methods of booting (BCD, Boot.ini): which builds of Vista beta files are helpful, and which are proven unprofitable.

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

I found something like XpOnJoggler - includes modified XpOnMac 32-bit EFI loader. I found also a WinXP disk image for Joggler with xoj.efi loader and patched NTLDR, NTDETECT.COM, boot.ini and vga.sys files:
joggler-xp-mevi-16.12.11.img.gz

I installed a fresh version of WinXP SP2 32-bit on a X220 laptop and tried to boot OS with these files from DUET32 but it stuck like this:
Image

In VMware, I write the Joggler image to the VMDK disk, in the .vmx file I enabled the EFI 32-bit firmware but machine crash:
Image

oscareczek
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 646
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 5:37 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by oscareczek »

What if you did everything with the previous method except you copy vga.sys? From what I read here I think only graphics are a problem now.

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

The same problem is with the original vga.sys file. I enabled debug serial in boot.ini but it's the same as on screen, but this is probably a debug from DUET32 and not boot.ini:

Code: Select all

[video] GOP: keeping mode 1
[video] GOP: initialising FB @ ? 3758096384x800x600
[video] GOP: Success
EFI GOP init success.
command line : (null)
XpOnMac v0.01 (C) JLA 2006.
XpOnJoggler V0.2 eric_huang@foxmail.com 2011.
Using resolution 800x600x32@0. ScanLineSize=0x0C80. Video=2, fb=0xE0000000
Warning: Unknown video card 2...
SMBios table at 0x1FE08000, (0xD8000)
ACPI 2.0 table at 0x1FE09000, (0xD8100)
cr0 == 0x11
GDT Address: 1FD06D10  Limit: 0000003F.
Creating 16-bit code selectors 30, 38
krnIDT: 100092E0
BiosMap : 0x0009E000, 0x0009E26C
path : Acpi(PNP0A03,0)/Pci(1E|0)/Pci(2|2)/Usb(3, 0)
path : Acpi(PNP0A03,0)/Pci(1E|0)/Pci(2|2)/Usb(3, 0)/HD(Part1,Sig54455544)
path : Acpi(PNP0A03,0)/Pci(1F|1)/Ata(Primary,Master)
Hard drive detected: Acpi(PNP0A03,0)/Pci(1F|1)/Ata(Primary,Master)
HDBoot: Found active partition #0.
HDBoot: Found valid boot sector on partition #0. Booting...
load intenal NTLDR, and boot
If I delete NTDETECT.COM and NTLDR files from the partition, I have the same info:

Code: Select all

HDBoot: Found active partition #0.
HDBoot: Found valid boot sector on partition #0. Booting...
load intenal NTLDR, and boot
This means that NTLDR and NTDETECT.COM are not yet processed.

Zenkaino lovelive
FTP Access
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2020 12:49 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Zenkaino lovelive »

Windows XP does not have EFI.

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

Zenkaino lovelive wrote:
Thu Sep 03, 2020 9:57 am
Windows XP does not have EFI.
WinXP 64-bit for Itanium have EFI. WinXP 32-bit and 64-bit (amd64) does not officially have EFI, but it can be boot and works under EFI but not with every graphics card.

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

Hyoenmadan86 wrote:
Sat Jul 20, 2019 3:08 am
Bootanimation and video drivers which depend in Int10h interface work fine in 32bit versions, booted by NTLdr, or both UEFI and PCAT versions of BootMgr/Winload.

But... 32Bit versions don't use HAL BIOS emulator, but VDM Ke386CallBios and V86 HalpBiosCall (x86new emulated version of this one is named HalCallBios).
I found an interesting description: x86BiosCall
VIDEOPRT uses the x86 BIOS emulator unless the following registry key exists:

Code: Select all

Key: 	HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers\DisableEmulator
If the key can be opened for read and write access, then accessing int 10h through VIDEOPRT actually does execute virtual-8086 code using Ke386CallBios.
It follows that normally the emulator is used by VIDEOPRT and only when we add the DisableEmulator key in the registry, VIDEOPRT uses the Ke386CallBios function instead of the emulator.

I just don't know what version of WinXP (32 or 64-bit) the description applies to ???

stealthrt
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 7:46 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by stealthrt »

Alright everyone. I have been at this for months now and I can not seem to find a solution.

I have an Intel STCK1A32WFC ConputeStick. This stick only has UEFI to select from. As everyone knows, Windows XP was out way before UEFI came around so it cant be booted from it. However, I am in need of getting Windows XP onto the ComputeStick due to my software i need to use being so old that it doesn't work on anything but Windows XP.

The bios screen looks like this:
Image

It has an option of either Windows 8.1/10 32-bit mode or Ubuntu 64-bit mode. Most of the time if I make a Windows XP boot USB via Rufus it boots fine in Windows 8.1/10 mode using GPT and UEFI selected. When I try running, say Ventoy, it will only boot up using the Ubuntu 64-bit option. Trying to boot from the USB drive using Rufus doing MBR with BIOS (or UEFI-CSM) something like Windows-XP-Professional-Incl-SATA-Drivers.iso does not bring anything up for either option.

I understand Windows XP can not boot from a GTP partition and UEFI. BUT there has to be something that can do it out there! :)

It would be awesome if a guru could help out with getting this Windows XP onto this stick!!!

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

stealthrt wrote:
Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:28 pm
I have an Intel STCK1A32WFC ConputeStick.
It would be awesome if a guru could help out with getting this Windows XP onto this stick!!!
This is BayTrail. If UEFI doesn't have CSM, then none of it. If UEFI has CSM then bootmgfw.efi and winload.efi system loader may work, but there will likely be a problem with ACPI and missing WinXP drivers: ACPI XP SP3 install on Baytrail CPU

All the fun in WinXP and UEFI only makes sense on Sandy/Ivy Bridge platforms with UEFI+CSM. WinXP boot over bootmgfw.efi and winload.efi, but these platforms have also legacy BIOS module to boot from MBR so all this UEFI is not needed for anything for WinXP.

Ivy Bridge is the last platform to officially support WinXP - there are all x86/x64 drivers for this WinXP 32-bit or 64-bit.

Better buy some old (retro) computer and install WinXP normally.

Windows XP 32-Bit and Server 2003 32-Bit on Modern Hardware

Hyoenmadan86
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2012 6:45 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Hyoenmadan86 »

Beta12 wrote:
Wed Sep 30, 2020 4:07 pm
I just don't know what version of WinXP (32 or 64-bit) the description applies to ???
This is for Windows 32Bit versions only, which would still have the required K386* code in Kernel and HAL (Longhorn/Vista 32bit kernel/hal have both x86new emulator and K386* modules for compatibility/testing/troubleshooting purposes, and i guess Win7 RTM still have them). Windows 64bit editions ignore this key completely, 'cause them don't have such module (impossibility in hardware to fast transition between LongMode and v86 mode). Windows 64bit editions always use x86new emulator code.

infuscomus
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2018 7:43 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by infuscomus »

I know this is for getting Windows 7 booting without CSM but this could be useful for XP booting too. - https://github.com/manatails/uefiseven

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

infuscomus wrote:
Sat Jan 09, 2021 7:39 pm
I know this is for getting Windows 7 booting without CSM but this could be useful for XP booting too. - https://github.com/manatails/uefiseven
Yeeeeeaaaaaaa, It works :D :D :D :P *hehe* :OD
  • CSM disabled
  • graphics card with GOP firmware and driver installed in WinXP
  • bootmgfw.efi from Win7 SP1 64-bit required in the same folder as UefiSeven loader (renamed to bootx64.original.efi)
  • compatible with winload.efi from beta Longhorn Server 2008 6001.16497
Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Code: Select all

=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~= PuTTY log 2021.01.21 09:29:42 =~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=~=

Shell> fs0:\efi\boot\bootx64
  UefiMain UefiSeven 1.23
  UefiMain You are running in verbose mode, press Enter to continue
Initialize Found a GOP display adapter
SwitchVide Set mode 4 with desired 1024x768 resolution.
PrintVideo Current mode:
PrintVideo   HorizontalResolution = 1024
PrintVideo   VerticalResolution = 768
PrintVideo   PixelFormat = 1
PrintVideo   PixelsPerScanLine = 1024
PrintVideo   FrameBufferBase = E0000000
PrintVideo   FrameBufferSize = 3145728
PrintVideo Available modes (MaxMode = 12):
PrintVideo   Mode0: 2560x1440
PrintVideo   Mode1: 1280x960
PrintVideo   Mode2: 640x480
PrintVideo   Mode3: 800x600
PrintVideo   Mode4: 1024x768
PrintVideo   Mode5: 1280x1024
PrintVideo   Mode6: 1400x1050
PrintVideo   Mode7: 1600x1200
PrintVideo   Mode8: 1792x1344
PrintVideo   Mode9: 1856x1392
PrintVideo   Mode10: 1920x1440
PrintVideo   Mode11: 1152x864
IsInt10hHa Int10h IVT entry points at location (9000:0000) outside VGA ROM memory area (C0000..D0000), rejecting handler
EnsureMemo Success unlocking memory at C0000 with EfiLegacyRegionProtocol
  UefiMain VESA information filled in, Int10h handler address=C0200 (C000:0200)
EnsureMemo Success locking memory at C0000 with EfiLegacyRegionProtocol
  UefiMain Int10h IVT entry modified to point at C000:0200
IsInt10hHa Int10h IVT entry points at location within VGA ROM memory area (C000:0200)
IsInt10hHa First Int10h handler instruction at C000:0200 (3D) valid, accepting handler
  UefiMain Pre-boot Int10h sanity check success
FileExists Found simple file system protocol
FileExists Opened volume
FileExists Opened file '\efi\boot\bootx64.original.efi' for reading
  UefiMain Found Windows Boot Manager at '\efi\boot\bootx64.original.efi'
    Launch Loaded 'PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1F,0x2)/Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)/HD(1,MBR,0x6391A633,0x800,0x32000)/\efi\boot\bootx64.original.efi'
    Launch Addresss behind FileImageHandle=79784618
    Launch File matches an EFI loader signature
WaitForEnt Press Enter to continue
@infuscomus - Thank you very much! :mrgreen:

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

I was able to successfully boot WinXP SP2 64-bit in UEFI+CSM mode on a X220 laptop. I did it with AMD HD6450 PCIe card in EXP GDC 8.5c ExpressCard external graphics adapter :D :D :D

How to do it:
  • connect all devices, also external monitor to AMD card (I use DP-HDMI cable for my monitor)
  • boot WinXP in legacy mode - OS detect two devices
  • install drivers AMD (AMD graphic and AMD audio device)
  • disable integrated HD3000 driver in device manager
  • now reboot to UEFI mode and boot WinXP
X220 boots from bios POST screen to Windows Boot Manager using HD3000 card but next WinXP not load HD3000 disabled driver only AMD HD6450. The green wallpaper aurora stays on the laptop screen (HD3000), while the WinXP desktop is on the external monitor (AMD HD6450) :mrgreen:
Image

God_night_
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Feb 26, 2021 2:22 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by God_night_ »

Windows XP x86 version using EFI boot looks easier than x64 version.

house52
FTP Access
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2021 4:55 pm

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by house52 »

Windows XP 64 bit seems to support EFI but I'm not sure about 32 bit.

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

house52 wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:04 pm
Windows XP 64 bit seems to support EFI but I'm not sure about 32 bit.
F..k :x :x read the whole topic carefully. WinXP 32-bit and 64-bit do not officially support UEFI, but you can run both WinXP 32-bit under UEFI 32-bit and WinXP 64-bit under UEFI 64-bit

SONBTV
User avatar
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 1:41 pm
Location: Earth

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by SONBTV »

Beta12 wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 5:32 am
house52 wrote:
Tue Apr 27, 2021 3:04 pm
Windows XP 64 bit seems to support EFI but I'm not sure about 32 bit.
F..k :x :x read the whole topic carefully. WinXP 32-bit and 64-bit do not officially support UEFI, but you can run both WinXP 32-bit under UEFI 32-bit and WinXP 64-bit under UEFI 64-bit
Maybe he means IA64 because IA64 officially supports EFI?
Last edited by SONBTV on Thu May 06, 2021 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
I like Windows Server (all versions). But client versions of Windows is also not bad.

And there is my task, in which I have to try to boot Windows 8/Server 2012 builds starting with 7700 up to this build, that I install and boot successfully on UEFI without CSM (without any modifications), and you could help me in doing this task, if you want.

Beta12
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 226
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 11:19 am

Re: Does Windows XP have EFI?

Post by Beta12 »

SONBTV wrote:
Tue May 04, 2021 6:26 am
Maybe he means IA64 because IA64 officially supports UEFI?
Another wise guy :x

How many times do I have to explain to read the whole topic carefully ?????!!!!!! :x

Everything is explained in this topic. WinXP IA64 is a different Windows than 32 and 64-bit and so this officially supports UEFI but Itanium is not popular.

Post Reply