Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
Post Reply
Xeno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:23 pm
Location: UK

Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Post by Xeno »

I was trying to upgrade Windows XP to Longhorn Build 3683 and an error occurred copying the file awqr1ez1.sys which prevented me from upgrading. I was wondering what this file could be and if the filename is just random as I couldn't find anything about it online?

Fanta Shokata
FTP Access
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 pm
Location: Tricity, Poland

Re: Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Post by Fanta Shokata »

Did you try to upgrade on VM or a physical machine???
More Fanta. Less Serious

Xeno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Post by Xeno »

Fanta Shokata wrote:
Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:07 am
Did you try to upgrade on VM or a physical machine???
Physical machine. I have a spare machine I like to mess around with.

Fanta Shokata
FTP Access
Posts: 39
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 pm
Location: Tricity, Poland

Re: Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Post by Fanta Shokata »

Xeno wrote:
Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:43 am
Fanta Shokata wrote:
Thu Jan 07, 2021 12:07 am
Did you try to upgrade on VM or a physical machine???
Physical machine. I have a spare machine I like to mess around with.
Provide specs of you spare machine then.
More Fanta. Less Serious

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2182
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Post by AlphaBeta »

Your ISO or disc could be corrupted.
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

Xeno
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:23 pm
Location: UK

Re: Any info on awqr1ez1.sys?

Post by Xeno »

AlphaBeta wrote:
Sat Jan 09, 2021 7:54 am
Your ISO or disc could be corrupted.
I'll redownload it for sure to test later, but I was able to do a clean install just fine and the issue did happen with a slightly later build and the same issue happened with a different filename, but same extension.

Update: I expanded a random file in the i386 folder to the filename, clicked 'skip file' and it worked. Turns out that the filename is random.



Here's me showing off the fix (0:58 because timestamp doesn't work) with the same extension, just different filename.
Last edited by Xeno on Mon Jan 11, 2021 8:13 pm, edited 5 times in total.

Post Reply