Windows 95 CPU limit

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
Post Reply
WinWhat
User avatar
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Nov 08, 2020 12:15 am
Location: Somewhere on Indonesia

Windows 95 CPU limit

Post by WinWhat »

Some people say that Windows 95 CPU limit was 2.1ghz (anything faster than it will get system protection error.) .I test Windows 95 with AMD K6 (500mhz) and i get system protection error (emulator: PCem) .

Does the actual limit was 500mhz~ or the AMD K6 was incompatible with Windows 95?

(wait, I'm actually asking about fastest cpu that could run Windows 95 (without system protection error) without any patches. Gonna start a new topic instead.)
Last edited by WinWhat on Sun Nov 22, 2020 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Fanta Shokata
FTP Access
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 pm
Location: Tricity, Poland

Re: Windows 95 CPU limit

Post by Fanta Shokata »

AMD K6 debuted 2 years after Windows 95, but Microsoft released a patch which fixes the protection error you've mentioned.
More Fanta. Less Serious

ZXman
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2020 7:59 pm

Re: Windows 95 CPU limit

Post by ZXman »

I wonder where this limit was coming from? Was there kind of a hardcoded number in the code?

xelloss
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 333
Joined: Sun Aug 18, 2013 7:26 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland

Re: Windows 95 CPU limit

Post by xelloss »

ZXman wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 2:05 pm
I wonder where this limit was coming from? Was there kind of a hardcoded number in the code?
Michael has the answer:

https://www.os2museum.com/wp/those-win9 ... -machines/

DVINTHEHOUSEMAN
User avatar
Posts: 363
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am
Location: My house or somewhere else

Re: Windows 95 CPU limit

Post by DVINTHEHOUSEMAN »

I'd say just stick to a 386 or 486, or a lower end Pentium.
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!

mrpijey wrote:Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.

Fanta Shokata
FTP Access
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2020 12:48 pm
Location: Tricity, Poland

Re: Windows 95 CPU limit

Post by Fanta Shokata »

DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:
Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:19 pm
I'd say just stick to a 386 or 486, or a lower end Pentium.
For a 386 or lower-end 486 I would stick with Windows 3.1.
More Fanta. Less Serious

Post Reply