BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 7d, 1h, 33m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 5386MB of 11358MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: 86-DOS 1.00 on VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 9:23 pm 
Reply with quote
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:00 pm

Posts
32

Location
DESK.CPL

Favourite OS
Any Windows build
86-DOS 1.00 can usually be run using a special Z80 emulator.
But, it can actually run on VirtualBox, VMware, Microsoft Virtual PC or similar software.
The way I did it is that I first installed MS-DOS 5.00 and the MSCDEX CD-ROM drivers.
Then, using the VISO functionality of VirtualBox, I included all 86-DOS system files.
To install it, I wiped the C: drive then copied all files from the hard drive to the hard drive.
The next reboot, I got greeted by the 86-DOS COMMAND.COM application, working on VirtualBox!
Here is the proof:
Image

Note that when I booted it up, it didn't ask me for the date like it does on the Z80 emulator.
(This is just a basic experimental attempt. If anyone can tell me of a way to get a PC-compatible version of 86-DOS working, that would be great)


Last edited by SebOno on Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: 86-DOS 1.00 on VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
549
That is such a bad idea because 86-DOS 1.00's BIOS and kernel are stored on the reserved sectors of the 8" floppy (so they are not files) and you are basically using MS-DOS 5.0 with 86-DOS 1.0's COMMAND.COM. Also, the DOS kernel asks for date in very early versions of DOS, not COMMAND.COM.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: 86-DOS 1.00 on VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2020 10:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 11, 2013 3:24 am

Posts
223

Favourite OS
Pencil and paper
You could not have included 86-DOS' system files because 86-dos 1.0 did not have system files. The system resided in a set of reserved sectors at the beginning of the disk, like most CP/M systems.

The application level/user programs like command.com or edlin are fairly "well behaved" DOS programs that use APIs still supported in later DOS. These are known to run under later DOS and Windows, including Windows 10-32bit NTVDM.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: 86-DOS 1.00 on VirtualBox        Posted: Fri Feb 07, 2020 7:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
549
Technically 86-DOS 1.00 do have system files but they were written to those reserved sectors on the floppy disk (before the FAT begins). It is possible to extract them and with a later version of the BIOS (1.10), you can actually make a bootable disk with 1.00's kernel stored as a file. 86-DOS disks and MS-DOS disks are incompatible because of those reserved sectors so I have no idea how he managed to copy those 86-DOS files to his MS-DOS installation (unless he extracted them to his host computer and inserted them to his VM).

It is not entirely impossible to create a working version of 86-DOS for VirtualBox and VMware (so PC-compatible) but is does require you to rewrite the boot sector and BIOS. The kernel also needs to be patched if I recall correctly. Running COMMAND.COM on MS-DOS 5 does not mean you have 86-DOS since the kernel is not 86-DOS's.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: 86-DOS 1.00 on VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 9:25 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 30, 2010 6:14 pm

Posts
128

Favourite OS
950
I don't think 86-DOS can be run on a Z80 emulator, unless SIMH AltairZ80 is meant, which is not only a Z80 emulator, despite the name.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: 86-DOS 1.00 on VirtualBox        Posted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
549
Yes it can (on AltairZ80). It does simulate 8086. It only support the Cromemco 4FDC floppy controller if I recall correctly. For 86-DOS 1.14, you have to assemble the boot sector and DOS BIOS with the Cromemco switch on and hex-edit the floppy image for it to boot on the AltairZ80 simulator.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS