BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 8h, 16m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 4698MB of 10563MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: how can i replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp disk        Posted: Thu Sep 26, 2019 10:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:42 am

Posts
98

Location
U.S.A.

Favourite OS
Windows XP & Windows 7
how can i modify and replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp install disk? any help would be great


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: how can i replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp disk        Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 12:53 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:40 pm

Posts
1094

Location
Flying high in a DC10

Favourite OS
NT3.X Family
Delete explorer.ex_ and drop in the modified explorer.exe. Recompressing explorer into explorer.cab and then changing extension to .ex_ is optional.

_________________
Quote:
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do it blows your whole leg off"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: how can i replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp disk        Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:21 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:42 am

Posts
98

Location
U.S.A.

Favourite OS
Windows XP & Windows 7
yourepicfailure wrote:
Delete explorer.ex_ and drop in the modified explorer.exe. Recompressing explorer into explorer.cab and then changing extension to .ex_ is optional.

so i dont have to make it "explorer.ex_" when i add it back? all ive really done is add the old windows flag to the start button via changing the bitmaps.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: how can i replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp disk        Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:40 pm

Posts
1094

Location
Flying high in a DC10

Favourite OS
NT3.X Family
The underscore extension indicates the binary was cab compressed. Recompression is optional. Adding the underscore extension to an uncompressed file will cause problems.

As long as you delete the compressed version, you'll be fine. If you don't, the underscore is alphanumerically before any other symbol in the extension and will be copied/extracted while the uncompressed will not.

TLDR again delete the compressed version and drop in the modded binary.
Don't pass it off as a "new" build.

_________________
Quote:
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do it blows your whole leg off"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: how can i replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp disk        Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 3:33 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:42 am

Posts
98

Location
U.S.A.

Favourite OS
Windows XP & Windows 7
yourepicfailure wrote:
The underscore extension indicates the binary was cab compressed. Recompression is optional.
As long as you delete the compressed version, you'll be fine. If you don't, the underscore is alphanumerically before any other symbol in the extension and will be copied/extracted while the uncompressed will not.

TLDR again delete the compressed version and drop in the modded binary.
Don't pass it off as a "new" build.

no intention of passing it off just wanna create a install disk with all updates and mods for myself.guess i should have been more clearer on my reasons to start with


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: how can i replace the explorer.exe on a windows xp disk        Posted: Fri Sep 27, 2019 10:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Posts
446
https://mega.nz/#!FENHjSzY!wAyBro0ry0Vm ... sranCN9dCU

Something I made and used while modding Windows XP Starter Edition... Modify one of the scripts and you should be able to get a working file. It won't just work, you need to copy modified explorer.exe to that folder, edit the WINLOGON_EXE.BAT (replace winlogon with explorer) and run that script.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS