Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
Post Reply
TheCharizard31
FTP Access
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:57 pm
Location: France

Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by TheCharizard31 »

Hi all.
I want to test several builds on Windows 95 (from FTP), but I cannot get 256 colors using VirtualBox.
So, if anyone knows how to get VirtualPC 2007 SP1 works, can he sends his method here (on Windows 10 64bits) ?
If there's no method, can you help me to get the bearwindows driver working on them ?
Thanks a lot.

TheCharizard31

gtgamer468
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by gtgamer468 »

It's better if you use VMWare or even better, 86box. There is a way to add VirtualPC 2007 to Windows 10, but I can't remember on top of my head right now.

TheCharizard31
FTP Access
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:57 pm
Location: France

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by TheCharizard31 »

If I need VMware, there's a free version ?

TheCharizard31

gtgamer468
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by gtgamer468 »

Yes, there's a free version, the Workstation Player.

Overdoze
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 1694
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2014 10:28 am
Location: Slovenia

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by Overdoze »

gtgamer468 wrote:There is a way to add VirtualPC 2007 to Windows 10, but I can't remember on top of my head right now.
At least as far as I know, it can only work on the 32-bit version if you use an updated vmm.sys and bypass the compatibility checks. The 64-bit version just causes a BSOD if you attempt this.
All roads lead to Neptune™

KRNL386 - my site about retro computing | My site about Windows 1.0 | My blog | 86Box Manager | LeakDB - list of PC OS warez leaks

TheCollector1988
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 3543
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by TheCollector1988 »

Why don't you give 86box a try for Win9x testing? It may not have the great speed of vpc as it emulates whole machines instead of virtualization but give it a try.

ComputerHunter
FTP Access
Posts: 650
Joined: Sat Oct 20, 2018 11:37 am

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by ComputerHunter »

Impossible. It will either give you a BSOD or an error.

DVINTHEHOUSEMAN
User avatar
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am
Location: My house or somewhere else

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by DVINTHEHOUSEMAN »

If you use Vbox then you have to get the VBE9x driver for 256-32 bit colors
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!

Aaaaaa nuuu cheeki breeki i v damke!
mrpijey wrote:Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.

TheCharizard31
FTP Access
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:57 pm
Location: France

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by TheCharizard31 »

DVINTHEHOUSEMAN wrote:If you use Vbox then you have to get the VBE9x driver for 256-32 bit colors
This is what I've already tried before, but Chicago/Win95 after installing the driver stayed in 16 colors and in Display Properties Resolution tab, it says it's not configured properly.
TheCharizard31

DVINTHEHOUSEMAN
User avatar
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am
Location: My house or somewhere else

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by DVINTHEHOUSEMAN »

It worked for me. Try VMware and VMware tools. That worked too, except on Nashville the SVGA driver is broken.
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!

Aaaaaa nuuu cheeki breeki i v damke!
mrpijey wrote:Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.

TheCharizard31
FTP Access
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 6:57 pm
Location: France

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by TheCharizard31 »

But I have another problem. Chicago/Win95 don't detect the virtual CD, that prevents me from installing VMware tools.

TheCharizard31

gtgamer468
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 326
Joined: Sun Jun 12, 2016 10:35 pm

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by gtgamer468 »

That image is stored in the directory where you've installed VMWare. Try to mount it and see if you can install it. There are two versions, I believe. Use the one that includes the words Win95/Win98.

Battler
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2034
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am
Location: Slovenia, Central Europe.
Contact:

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by Battler »

- gtgamer468: Chicago doesn't see the virtual CD drive, and that's because it has no 32-bit driver for ATAPI CD-ROM. TheCharizard31 needs to install a DOS CD-ROM driver and MSCDEX.
Join [url=irc://irc.ringoflightning.net/softhistory/]#softhistory @ RoL IRC[/url], a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: [url=irc://irc.ringoflightning.net/aniboshi/]#doki-doki @ RoL IRC[/url], Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by AlphaBeta »

I don't even think it's possible to install VMware Tools on Chicago...
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

DVINTHEHOUSEMAN
User avatar
Posts: 350
Joined: Sun Apr 16, 2017 12:39 am
Location: My house or somewhere else

Re: Get VirtualPC works on Windows 10 64bits

Post by DVINTHEHOUSEMAN »

You have to download the CD driver disk for Windows 95
I will provide the whole set of disks, along with the CD driver disk here

https://tinyurl.com/DOS622WCD

Boot into DOS mode and run Setup.bat from A:
Type exit and it should be there
DV
Go check me out on YouTube!

Aaaaaa nuuu cheeki breeki i v damke!
mrpijey wrote:Or someone slipped on a banana peel, fell backwards and accidently hit both the betaarchive.com and "DDoS Express" buttons at the same time.

Post Reply