Windows 1.00 Help

Discuss MS-DOS, Windows 1, 2 and 3.
Post Reply
Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

Windows 1.00 Help

Post by Dr Eggman »

I got the Windows 1.00 off of Mr. Pijey's server, and i am trying to install it in VMware.

-->I modified the image, swapping the mouse.drv from win2.11 si i can use the mouse.

Here's what i did:
Gave it 64k ram
Boot into Dos6.22
Fdisk--> its the full 2gigs.
format c:
sys C:

Then,
(Put in windows disk 1)
A:\
setup

I answered all the questions,
C:\WINDOWS
2 (MS Bus/Serial)
6 (Enhansed Colour Graphics (With more than 64k) )
N (No printer)

After:
win

IT BEEPS LIKE CRAZY and the screen gets messed up,
Image
Then, it works, but after like 1 min. it will freeze.

Please Help!
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

WinPC

Post by WinPC »

Try using an older version of MS-DOS, such as MS-DOS 3.3. I heard that MS-DOS versions 6.00 and later arn't compatible with Windows 1.0x.

betamaster
User avatar
Posts: 422
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Post by betamaster »

I make with MS-DOS 6.22 new 9 MB partition FAT12, after this i boot from MS-DOS 3.30 and install Windows and this works
I don`t know what i am looking :P
Image

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

The best thing to do is:

1) Extract mouse driver from !!2.03!! and insert in first disk
2) Install MS-DOS 5 or lower
3) Install Windows 1 from floppy's
4) Choose the settings from 2 serial and 6 EGA >64K colour
5) boot at C:\Windows\Win.com

I tested it and it worked perfectly.

EDIT:
You can use DOS 6 but you have to do SETVER.EXE first.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

Can you upload a vhd of this?

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Windows OCManage wrote:Can you upload a vhd of this?
Off course.
I am going to start making this in VMWare Workstation 5.5 and VPC 2007.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Uploaded a .RAR

It contains:
- VMWare Workstation 5.5 Virtual Machine
- Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 Virtual Machine

Both with MS-DOS 5 and Windows 1 with mouse working.

- And the ORIGINAL NFO from nakamura hiroshi how leaked the disks.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

Could you also upload it to mrpijey's server?

Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

Post by Dr Eggman »

Thanks to everyone for the help.


@DjRob
What server(s) is it on??
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Its on BAFTP and mrpeijys server.

vizerous
Donator
Posts: 343
Joined: Sun Sep 23, 2007 11:27 am

Post by vizerous »

I have found a strange problem at use Virtual PC and Win 1.01.
If you at installation choose EGA> 64KB, then after save of text in the "write" program, windows are crashing. But if you choose "black&White" mode, all work stably.
But, however, windows correctly work in any configuration on my i386

Post Reply