BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 11h, 57m | CPU: 12% | MEM: 5826MB of 12013MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sat Apr 08, 2017 11:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:55 am

Posts
82
Anyone still run this or played with it? i am looking at having a play with it, so wanting to know some info on how easy it is to setup and what can run on it if possible, and does it have a workstation counter part or do you use either OS2 or windows based clients.
I have played with windows server stuff, from windows 3.51 to windows 2003. I would like to see if i can get this going with two pcs i have. I have seen it for sale on ebay, going to ask if it has the server part too.
:)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 11:41 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:33 pm

Posts
224

Favourite OS
Windows XP SP3 - Windows 98 SE
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Novell NetWare acts both as a workstation and a server, actually... It goes on pretty well with both Windows NT and OS/2, although support for the latter is a bit more specific – look up for NetWare for OS/2 – and was dropped since NetWare 4.2.

I have installed NetWare a couple of months ago, as a matter of fact, and haven't still managed to join a Windows NT 4.0 client to the NetWare network (apparently, only installing the NDS client on Windows didn't do the trick). Trust me, it is complicated to set up, so get ready to spend quite a while on configuring it – and its unfriendly user interface won't certainly help you.

A pro tip: I got Novell NetWare off the FTP (version 5.1), and that particular copy wasn't bootable (and, well, it wasn't even original...). I'm not sure whether an original Novell NetWare copy is bootable – I highly doubt it is; anyway, if the copy you're bidding on is not bootable, start the installation from Novell DOS.

Win7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 12:34 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:55 am

Posts
82
Win7 wrote:
Correct me if I'm wrong, but Novell NetWare acts both as a workstation and a server, actually... It goes on pretty well with both Windows NT and OS/2, although support for the latter is a bit more specific – look up for NetWare for OS/2 – and was dropped since NetWare 4.2.

I have installed NetWare a couple of months ago, as a matter of fact, and haven't still managed to join a Windows NT 4.0 client to the NetWare network (apparently, only installing the NDS client on Windows didn't do the trick). Trust me, it is complicated to set up, so get ready to spend quite a while on configuring it – and its unfriendly user interface won't certainly help you.

A pro tip: I got Novell NetWare off the FTP (version 5.1), and that particular copy wasn't bootable (and, well, it wasn't even original...). I'm not sure whether an original Novell NetWare copy is bootable – I highly doubt it is; anyway, if the copy you're bidding on is not bootable, start the installation from Novell DOS.

Win7



what sort of software do you run on it or planning on running? is there not a novell disk that has the software for windows based clients?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 1:28 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:33 pm

Posts
224

Favourite OS
Windows XP SP3 - Windows 98 SE
I ran Novell on VirtualBox, back in January, and I threw the virtual machine away a few hours after the installation, as I had no clue about how to deal with the operating system's advanced features (the only thing I was/am able to do on Netware is launching Netscape and WebSphere console), therefore I haven't installed anything on it.

Again, the ISO on the FTP seems heavily modified, if not corrupted (or so is my download...), thus don't take it too seriously, but there's no trace of tools for Windows on the CD.

Win7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 3:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1441

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
Ive used it in the day, and occasionally fire it up. Honestly the Netware File & Print services for NT is far far easier to work with. There was even a version of Netware 4 that could run under OS/2 although it was a real chore to setup, but at the time that was the best way to write NLM's or any kind of netware application as you could setup each DOS VDM to have its own virtual NIC so you could run a LAN on the desktop. Although practise made this kind of unstable as hell.

Netware 2 requires you to shuffle floppies a million times, works best with something that'll emulate a ne2000. It's geard to the 286, and small sub 500 MB IDE disks

Netware 3 has a much better installer than 2, but it's more so targeted to 386's class machines with ISA bus peripherals so again so NIC's like the NE2000, and tiny IDE/ST-506 disks.

Netware 4 has a lot of 486 and some basic PCI hooks, and added the whole directory tree stuff akin to active directory.

After that I went into the NT direction as did the rest of the world, as Novell's market share all but collapsed.

The turning point was the ease in which you could install applications onto the server making Windows NT. Although if you search around there is some Oracle 6 floating around for Netware.

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 4:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:55 am

Posts
82
does it have the features for deploying Operating systems, and OSs for diskless workstations?
Also does it support CD roms too? Or would I have to add the drivers to the DOS setup?
I have read that its as stable as hell, if I am right?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:33 pm

Posts
224

Favourite OS
Windows XP SP3 - Windows 98 SE
The legend has it that NetWare had to be rarely rebooted, ensuring prolonged functionality in comparison to Windows NT – anyway, as for reliability, there is nothing to worry about.

I can't tell whether NetWare supports diskless machines. But I'm quite sure that early releases (say, up to the 4.x branch) could run on top of diskless workstations.

CD-ROM support is included.

Win7


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 5:32 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1441

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
Windows NT has RPL

https://www.microsoft.com/resources/doc ... x?mfr=true

And Novel supported diskless workstations as well, it's basically for MS-DOS.

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 6:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:55 am

Posts
82
Is it fussy on what hardware you install it on? I know windows 3.x and NT are fussy on any thing over a Pentium 3.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Apr 09, 2017 7:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Dec 31, 2008 7:29 pm

Posts
1441

Location
SE Asia

Favourite OS
MS-DOS 3.30a & Windows/386!
Procta wrote:
Is it fussy on what hardware you install it on? I know windows 3.x and NT are fussy on any thing over a Pentium 3.


Oh my, if you think NT is fussy, you are going to embark on a trip to a world of pain. Netware is beyond fussy, even back in the day the certified 'runs with netware' logo meant more it probably would work, but probably needs updates on a BBS.

_________________
"Those who don't understand UNIX are condemned to reinvent it, poorly." – Henry Spencer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Tue May 26, 2015 7:28 am

Posts
26

Favourite OS
Win7
I used to work for a Novell partner, and own many versions of Netware.

It can be a pain to setup, but is really stable once you get it going. I have run 5.1 and 6.5 on vmware as well as actual server hardware (Dell PowerEdge). Unless you have server hardware, I would recommend running it inside a virtual machine as a 32-bit guest. Sadly there was never a 64-bit release.

You can use it as a file server, and/or application server, Oracle (DB), Groupwise (Email), and/or Apache for web. The server also comes with a set of GNU utilities like bash, and whilst you could use that to explore the server, for the most part you are expected to configure it from a work station.

You will want to install the Novell client, and consoleOne (nick named conslow one, but most of the admins that had to suffer it), through that you can configure users and such.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Wed Apr 19, 2017 9:13 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu May 29, 2014 10:39 am

Posts
109

Location
Ljubljana Slovenia

Favourite OS
Windows 95 Plus
well the pain will be finding licence disks for this things (for some reason there are nowhere to be found on the internet) I was trying to install Netware 4.11 in vmware but installer won't let me through without its Licence Disk and even if I could somehow bypass it I would be only limited to ONE connection that not even LAN. Yesterday I was searching for this Licence disk 6 hours and I was not able to find it (not even SERVER.MLS file (I suppose thats the licece file)

hopefully some day some good soul will find it in its heart to share this disks (at least for Abandonware versions of Netware)

PS: everyone knows how to find windows serial keys for Abandonware versions of windows so its easy to play with them
but its hard to play with Netware just bacause of a Licence Disk


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 6:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Thu Apr 20, 2017 5:39 pm

Posts
3

Favourite OS
Irix 6.5
louisw3 isn't kidding...
Netware 2.x was on 5.25" floppies, God help you if you only had 360kb FDD access...
it basically linked the object files to create the .exe to run. It was a nightmare, but Netware was the fastest game in town, and dominated the early market.

As I recall, the only one that allowed console use as a workstation, though (for earlier versions pre-3.x) was the ELS entry-level systems, ELS I and ELS II.
Early DOS clients also had a floppy-shuffle, but nowhere near the amount of 2.x. Really early 1.x, and maybe 2.0a, actually used an ISA card for licensing, as opposed to a license disk.

Guess one gives their age away if they say they supported 1.x and 2.x...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:18 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:40 pm

Posts
5
I have VMs built for 3.2 and 4.11 that I occasionally fire up.

Some things that you'll run into is that you need a management client to do some things, and for 3.2 and 4.11 that means you need a box that can support IPX. I'd keep a copy of XP or Server 2003 around with the old IPX-capable Novell client around. Novell used to make it fairly easy to acquire "trial" versions that had like 1-2 user license packs, which are good enough to play around with.

Regardless, setting one up from scratch these days is an exercise in pain. If you just want to play around with one, I think you can still get 6.5, the final version, from Micro Focus's website, and it has a 2-user license embedded. Better yet, you can boot the installer from the DVD, so you don't have to fuss with getting DOS working, a CD-ROM driver loaded, and setting up your partitions before installing NW.

Have fun!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 7:21 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:12 pm

Posts
68
Do you have original installation media for 3.2? If so, it would be cool if you could upload this to the FTP, as it is still missing!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sat Jan 13, 2018 9:46 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:40 pm

Posts
5
Yes, I do, but I think it's in storage. I'll check.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2018 1:24 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:56 am

Posts
152

Favourite OS
DOS
There were DOS clients available, at least for older versions. I seem to recall OS/2 Warp 3 Connect came with Netware client software, and I think Windows NT 4 Server has both Netware client and server services, and maybe even some facility for acting as a gateway between an SMB/NetBIOS client and a Netware server (or is it some other protocol it can do that for?). Linux has (or at least had) both Netware client (ncpfs) and server (MARS NWE) software available for it.

Netware was huge and everyone needed compatibility with it! In the early to mid '90s both the organizations I worked with used Netware, and I don't think I even heard that LAN Manager existed :)

I'd like to play with Netware 3.x again one day. I worked somewhere where we had one that also had an Internet email (POP & SMTP) server running, but it wasn't GroupWise, I'm fairly sure it was Mercury which you can surprisingly still download from the vendor 20 years later, and it's only been just over 2 years since the last update!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Mar 16, 2014 6:56 am

Posts
152

Favourite OS
DOS
Apologies for the double post, but I had a look at http://www.emsps.com/oldtools/ to see if they had Netware for sale but was surprised to see this instead:

Quote:
Novell is a registered trademark of Novell, Inc. in the United States and other countries. Sadly, their lawyers are destroying what was formerly a fine company. They are now simply the worst software company we've ever dealt with. We urge everyone to use great caution in any dealings with them. Knowing what we do about them, EMS won't buy, sell, or support anything with Novell's name on it.

:OD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: novell netware/ novell servers        Posted: Sat Mar 30, 2019 2:53 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:32 pm

Posts
12

Favourite OS
Reality
I've gotten NetWare 5.0 working very well in VirtualBox, and set up some Win2000, NT4, and Win98 VMs to be clients. "Novell Client 3.4" works just fine on all three OSes, and the domain service logon works flawlessly. The 6.5 images are available on MicroFocus, and they install just fine. I was able to clone the VMs and configure the client to use the NetWare 6.5 VM instead of the 5.0 VM. Some versions of Windows have a built-in client, but the real one works much better. As for mounting the shared volumes on Windows, it is quite easy. Mounting on Linux is a whole other story, and I have no idea how to get it to work.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS


Affiliate