Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
Post Reply
WindowsNeptune
Donator
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: People's Republic of China
Contact:

Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by WindowsNeptune »

Um, today BAFTP onlined couple of new things, one of them is Vista 6.0.5284.0.vbl_media_ehome.
I used VMWare 12.5.3 and set compatible to 10.x at the first time, and to 6.x at the second time. I set HDD to IDE mode.. But those still cannot solve the problem, when I install it, when copying files a several time it shows this ERROR Dialog:

Image

Wondering why could this happen and how to solve it..


EDIT:I opened vmdk and at \$WINDOWS.~BT\Sources\Panther\ I found a setuperr.log and it shows this:

Code: Select all

2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049e] IBS    CopyPrivatesToLocalSourcesFolder:Failed to copy from [D:\Sources\$OEM$] to [C:\$WINDOWS.~LS\Sources\$OEM$]. GLE is[0x57][gle=0x00000057]
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049b] IBS    CallBack_CopyPrivates:Failed to copy any privates and optional directories.[gle=0x00000057]
2005-12-20 18:33:54, Error      [0x06049d] IBS    CallBack_CopyPrivates:An error occurred while trying to copy the privates GLE is [0x57][gle=0x00000057]

Samuka
FTP Access
Posts: 535
Joined: Tue Nov 10, 2009 4:31 am
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by Samuka »

Remove Floppy Disk on VMware machine configuration (and try again)

WindowsNeptune
Donator
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: People's Republic of China
Contact:

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by WindowsNeptune »

Samuka wrote:Remove Floppy Disk on VMware machine configuration (and try again)
Well friend there's no Floppy Disk in my configuration :P

The Distractor

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by The Distractor »

The image seems touched (from the original build) just like some of the others. Try removing \sources\$OEM$ folder.

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ovctvct »

I have yet to try it, but the first advice is to try actual vmware 8 or older(not compatibility settings), 12.x have problems IIRC. EDIT: Try what The Distractor said.
Image

The Distractor

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by The Distractor »

Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G

ReztaNZ
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:41 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ReztaNZ »

I can confirm The Distractor's method works also.

BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G - Identifies as Windows vista starter

Found that the custom setup.exe on the disc generates an unattend answer file with a particular product key in it. Figured there must be a reason why.

Image
Image
Image

The Distractor

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by The Distractor »

Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ovctvct »

Looks closer to 5308 than 5270, probably because of the lab, e.g different volume icon. Is that Ultimate SKU? I'm currently downloading 5284 to try it too.
Last edited by ovctvct on Tue Dec 20, 2016 6:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

ReztaNZ
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 109
Joined: Wed May 07, 2014 12:41 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ReztaNZ »

Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image
Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ovctvct »

ReztaNZ wrote:Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image
That's a bug probably, IIRC 5270 server SKU has it too. Also strange you don't have any tray icons. Can you post a screenshot of the control panel?
Image

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ovctvct »

I keep getting this: Image
With IDE hard drive and vmware 7.1.4. I have formatted the HDD before. I fixed this: I had to use diskpart and NOT make the partition active.
Image

The Distractor

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by The Distractor »

ReztaNZ wrote:Strange... I do not have a proper start button in my VM of this build, yet The Distractor does.

Image
When I first set the theme, that occured for me, it showed after logoff and log back on. (I had activation troubles which turned out to be because I set the date wrong in my VM, and had set it to one month *after* the timebomb)

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ovctvct »

Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S
Image

WindowsNeptune
Donator
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: People's Republic of China
Contact:

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by WindowsNeptune »

ovctvct wrote:Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S
I remembered that 52xx don't have a Sidebar...

WindowsNeptune
Donator
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 1:13 pm
Location: People's Republic of China
Contact:

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by WindowsNeptune »

The Distractor wrote:Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G
Hmm friend, seems $OEM$\ have something about MediaCenter. However if I remove it from ISO, after finished installing, system still has MediaCenter installed.
Also, the two way of installing lead to the same failture if I dont remove OEM folder.

ovctvct
FTP Access
Posts: 1058
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2014 6:19 pm

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by ovctvct »

WindowsNeptune wrote:
ovctvct wrote:Image

Anyone got the Sidebar working? For me it just won't load :S
I remembered that 52xx don't have a Sidebar...
Nope, it does, look on the start menu.
Image

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Re: Installation of Vista 5284 failed

Post by XDude »

WindowsNeptune wrote:
The Distractor wrote:Can confirm that removing \sources\$OEM$ folder works.

I guess nobody in ehome lab ever tested the "run setup manually" button...

By the way, the custom setup launcher uses these serials (for 5284.vbl_media_ehome):

Ultimate: GQ67D-7XFV7-CFYXT-6FM72-PJHY6
Home Premium: BCW2J-22CC9-MKGJY-KYJHG-QK64G
Hmm friend, seems $OEM$\ have something about MediaCenter. However if I remove it from ISO, after finished installing, system still has MediaCenter installed.
Also, the two way of installing lead to the same failture if I dont remove OEM folder.
It seems like these builds are targeted for eHome PCs and have custom drivers/files. The Media Centre functionality shouldn't be in the OEM folder.

Post Reply