Something is using Port 80 on my machine?

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Something is using Port 80 on my machine?

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

I just downloaded XAMPP, with the intention of playing with some web applications on my machine, but for some reason Apache didn't want to start. After some investigation, it seems that something else on my machine is using port 80. How can I find out what it is that is using this port? I don't have IIS or any other web server installed on this machine...

I tried telnetting to port 80, it connects... if I type in more than about five chars it gives me some garbage.

Any ideas?

EDIT: Nevermind, found the culprit. Skype. Apparently Skype listens on port 80 and 443 as alternatives to whatever port it listens to, probably to dodge firewalls. Info here: http://qgyen.net/archive/2006/09/14/Sky ... 2100_.aspx[/url]
Last edited by pr0gram the pr0grammer on Thu Nov 16, 2006 1:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

do you use a firewall? type netstat -a -b in your command prompt and check if an application is using this port
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@Luckie
You beat me to it

Additionally, you should perform a port scan on your machine. There are some online services that do this, google for them. Another program I can recommand is the Process Explorer (from Sysinternals). This program will list all processes running on your machine and in the Properties page, it'll also show if an application is listening on a port. And although I don't think this is spyware or a backdoor or something like that (normally, they use other, odd port numbers) you should run a spyware/AV check on your system.

To me, it appears as if you're running a (small) web server on your machine. Maybe it's come with one of your installed applications? If you enter http://localhost in a browser's address bar, what does it do? And what kind of garbage does telnet show? Does it do that regardless of what you enter? Try to connect and type:

Code: Select all

GET /index.htm HTTP/1.1 <enter>
Host: www.none.org <enter>
<enter>
<enter>
Does this work or do you get kicked out after some characters as well? If this is accepted, you'll see some lines fly by. Scroll back to the line "Server:". If there's a web server running, this should be its name.

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Thanks for your comments ... though I found and resolved the problem (and edited the post above). Quite annoying that Skype takes port 80 by default.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Glad you got it sortedx out. Good to know that!

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

ok, great to here

@empireum

you are to slow
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Luckie wrote: @empireum

you are to slow
Sometimes, but not always!

Locked