Windows CE executable

Discuss Windows Phone 7, 8, 10, Windows CE, .Net and Windows Mobile.
Post Reply
Y@riK
User avatar
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 1:31 pm
Location: Cherkassy, Ukraine

Windows CE executable

Post by Y@riK »

How i can start small, simple Windows x86 .exe on Windows CE 5.0 ARM Device?

nerd70
FTP Access
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 3:20 am

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by nerd70 »

Y@riK wrote:How i can start small, simple Windows x86 .exe on Windows CE 5.0 ARM Device?
As far as I know you can't due to ARM being a different architecture compared to x86.

Archenemy
User avatar
Permanently Banned
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:05 pm
Location: C:\Users\Archenemy

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by Archenemy »

Try porting an x86 .exe to run on ARM Architecture due to Windows CE running on ARM.
@Archenemy betaarchive member

Last edited by Archenemy on Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:00 am, edited 6634564737338 times in total.

yourepicfailure
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1244
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 9:40 pm
Location: Flying high in a DC10

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by yourepicfailure »

No, you can't. Period. Not even on x86 CE builds, not on ANY CE machine.
For starters, Windows was just used as promotion branding for CE because its whole architecture/subsystem is different from traditional Windows/NT.
Second, x86 is built different from ARM. RISC rather than CISC to start.
You could go emulation, but I don't know of any emulators ported to CE AFAIK. Dosbox possibly.
Archenemy wrote:Try porting an x86 .exe to run on ARM Architecture due to Windows CE running on ARM.
Windows CE isn't exactly windows. Windows was just added for marketing as I said.

Take a look.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_CE

Architectures. Displays the differences, and possibly why it won't work. Some good text to read as well.

CE
https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms905093.aspx

NT
http://blogs.msdn.com/b/hanybarakat/arc ... cture.aspx
Last edited by yourepicfailure on Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"C makes it easy to shoot yourself in the foot; C++ makes it harder, but when you do it blows your whole leg off"
Image
You will never tear me from the grasp of the Pentium M!

InsertGoodNameHere
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:37 am
Contact:

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by InsertGoodNameHere »

Archenemy wrote:Try porting an x86 .exe to run on ARM Architecture due to Windows CE running on ARM.
And you do this how?
Don't visit much, if ever.

Looking to contact me? Shoot me a PM on reddit (here).

Archenemy
User avatar
Permanently Banned
Posts: 516
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:05 pm
Location: C:\Users\Archenemy

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by Archenemy »

InsertGoodNameHere wrote:
Archenemy wrote:Try porting an x86 .exe to run on ARM Architecture due to Windows CE running on ARM.
And you do this how?
You can use a guide on how to run x86 apps on your windows rt tablet at least.
@Archenemy betaarchive member

Last edited by Archenemy on Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:00 am, edited 6634564737338 times in total.

hounsell

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by hounsell »

No.

RT is NT. CE is not.

Also, Win86Emu was a rather buggy port of WINE wrapped up in an x86 emulator to Win32 ARM. It's of no relevance to porting existing applications. It's an emulator.

InsertGoodNameHere
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 277
Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2014 11:37 am
Contact:

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by InsertGoodNameHere »

Archenemy wrote:
InsertGoodNameHere wrote:
Archenemy wrote:Try porting an x86 .exe to run on ARM Architecture due to Windows CE running on ARM.
And you do this how?
You can use a guide on how to run x86 apps on your windows rt tablet at least.
We're talking about Windows CE, not RT.
Don't visit much, if ever.

Looking to contact me? Shoot me a PM on reddit (here).

WindowsBetaz01
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Dec 27, 2013 10:40 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by WindowsBetaz01 »

Archenemy wrote:Try porting an x86 .exe to run on ARM Architecture due to Windows CE running on ARM.
You can't really...
Archenemy wrote:You can use a guide on how to run x86 apps on your windows rt tablet at least.
Yeah, this isn't NT. I would fact check your knowledge on stuff before you post, what you think isn't always what's right.

KevinIsVeryKawaii
User avatar
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Jan 23, 2016 7:09 pm

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by KevinIsVeryKawaii »

I think you cannot run an x86 executable on an ARM based system. That is the case with Windows RT but I'm not sure if this is the same case with Windows CE

ContemporaryAwareness
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 3:39 pm
Location: Second star to the right

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by ContemporaryAwareness »

You cannot run win32 executables under Windows CE. Neither can you run x86 compiled binaries on ARM.

To start with, Win32 (NT) executables have the Windows NT PE header, which is different to Windows CE. Secondly, most of the API for CE is completely different to that of 9x or NT. Consequently even if it were an x86 CE device, it wouldn't be able to run it.

You can run CEF executables from VB or VB .net / C# .net with the .net Framework on both NT and CE however without needing to recompile from source.

Dz3n
User avatar
Posts: 39
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 3:36 pm
Location: Ukraine

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by Dz3n »

Offtopic Comment
I'm the author of this topic
ContemporaryAwareness wrote:To start with, Win32 (NT) executables have the Windows NT PE header, which is different to Windows CE. Secondly, most of the API for CE is completely different to that of 9x or NT. Consequently even if it were an x86 CE device, it wouldn't be able to run it.
Check out my project, it's Windows CE API translator for win32
https://github.com/feel-the-dz3n/WinCeCompatLayer

ContemporaryAwareness
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon May 27, 2019 3:39 pm
Location: Second star to the right

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by ContemporaryAwareness »

Dz3n wrote:
Offtopic Comment
I'm the author of this topic
ContemporaryAwareness wrote:To start with, Win32 (NT) executables have the Windows NT PE header, which is different to Windows CE. Secondly, most of the API for CE is completely different to that of 9x or NT. Consequently even if it were an x86 CE device, it wouldn't be able to run it.
Check out my project, it's Windows CE API translator for win32
https://github.com/feel-the-dz3n/WinCeCompatLayer
Very interesting. I take it that the source .exe has to be x86? Or are you fully emulating?

AlphaBeta
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2137
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm
Location: Czechia

Re: Windows CE executable

Post by AlphaBeta »

Microsoft has announced "CEPAL", a solution akin to WSL that would run existing CE applications on NT. Not quite sure if there is any CPU emulation going on, the announcement is pretty silent on that one.

https://blogs.windows.com/buildingapps/ ... ws-10-iot/
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!

Image

Post Reply