How can I remove Windows Millennium's timebomb?

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
Post Reply
khw0726
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Republic of Korea

How can I remove Windows Millennium's timebomb?

Post by khw0726 »

I got Windows Millenium build 2380 at Frozenport.com and I have to set my system date to 1999. I used Windows Me's startup disk and tried SYS, but it refused to SYS to C:. How can I remove the timebomb?

WinPC

Post by WinPC »

What error message do you get? I've gotten the error message "Cannot gain exclusive access to Drive C:" when trying to use the SYS command.

betaluva
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Australia

Post by betaluva »

@winpc,Brown foxes run fast? i thought it was "the quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog" or are you talking about firefox?

khw0726
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Republic of Korea

Post by khw0726 »

@WinPC//When I tried to SYS on Windows's DOSBOX, I get the message "Cannot gain exclusive access to Drive C:" and on Windows Me's retail startup disk, it said "Cannot find the system file in the standard location", "Use Windows SETUP to make C: bootable" and something like that.
My English is not good. Sorry for that.
Dokdo(Liancourt Rocks) is Korean territory!

theSpam
FTP Access
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 11:55 pm

Post by theSpam »

betaluva wrote:@winpc,Brown foxes run fast? i thought it was "the quick brown fox jumps over the lazy dog" or are you talking about firefox?
http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3221

betamaster
User avatar
Posts: 422
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2007 11:07 pm

Post by betamaster »

The best way i think i set date to 01/01/1991
I don`t know what i am looking :P
Image

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

betamaster wrote:The best way i think i set date to 01/01/1991
You mean 01/01/1999?

betaluva
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Australia

Post by betaluva »

@the spam, thanks

khw0726
FTP Access
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 7:02 am
Location: Republic of Korea

Post by khw0726 »

Thanks, I'll try it.
My English is not good. Sorry for that.
Dokdo(Liancourt Rocks) is Korean territory!

Unknown

Post by Unknown »

If i'm not mistaken, there was a build of this getting around osba with the timebomb removed.
Surely someone here from osba would have it, I was on dialup for most of the time there
so I never really got to download much.

NovemberSky

Post by NovemberSky »

I have a same question

Smartie77
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 129
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:44 am
Location: Germany

LOCK .. DOSmode in ME.

Post by Smartie77 »

problem with Millennium is that DOS is hidden and for that specific reason "no access" is a common problem on this OS when running DOS apps.

Try booting with a ME or 98SE CD/Floppy and type

DRIVELETTER of Bootmedium:\LOCK ( e.g. "A:\Lock" )

it whould warn you that LOCK will give full rw access - you need to confirm that with yes or no, and then you can patch files.

also there used to be a "realmode" patch for ME systems, which enables DOSmode like that of 98/98SE ( e.g. the shutdown option to kill windows but stay in Dos ).

ASk Google or here, this patch was widely used

Post Reply