SIMH for DOS

Discuss MS-DOS, Windows 1, 2 and 3.
Post Reply
Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

SIMH for DOS

Post by Tootles »

Is there a version of SIMH that'll work in, say, MS-DOS 5?

I'm wanting to set up a 'multiboot' laptop that gives the option of booting:

Code: Select all

4K BASIC
CP/M 2.2

Research UNIX 5
Research UNIX 7
211 BSD UNIX
and whatever else I can find.

I specifically want to be able to run it in MS-DOS 5, because it's the newest DOS that doesn't say 'Starting MS-DOS...' when it boots, and it doesn't require things like HIMEM to work. I have an old Pentium laptop that I could set this up on.
Have a day.

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

Will someone please reply to this, someone's got to know where an old DOS version of SIMH can be got from....
Have a day.

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1261
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

Please expand 'SIMH'. I don't understand it.

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

SIMH is a computer history emulation system - I san't remember what it stands for, it might be SIMulate History or something like that.

I found a DOS version, but it's broken and requires DOS4GW to run, which is annoying. What I'm looking for is something that's exactly like the Windows versions. Is there a way I can compile the program to run under DOS (bearing in mind that I have no experience compiling software except that which I have written), or an 'unofficial' version that works in DOS 5 or so.

Using it under DOS is only a means to an end - if there's a way I can set up a completely minimal Linux system that does nothing but run SIMH on startup, then I'll do it .
Have a day.

stitch
Permanently Banned
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Post by stitch »

If this SIMH works under Linux, like you nudged it did, Debian and Slackware can both be configured to be very basic installs. Just don't install every package and make an rc.d or init.d sysv script to load it upon boot.

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

Thanks. I might be asking how to set up the scripts, but I think I understand how to do a minimal Slackware install .

Is there a way to supress all of the messages that Linux puts out during boot, and to default to single-user mode?
Have a day.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

marktuson wrote: Is there a way to supress all of the messages that Linux puts out during boot, and to default to single-user mode?
I think there is an option in the kernel configuration that hides all the status messages, it used to be the default in earlier Ubuntu releases AFAIK (disabling the splash screen would just show a black screen instead of the messages). To start into single user mode, you can either pass "single" as an argument when booting the kernel, or "1" to switch to runlevel 1. Another possibility is to pass "init=/bin/sh" as a kernel argument which will – as you can probably tell – execute a shell instead of the system's init script, dropping you into this very limited shell.

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

Thanks.
Have a day.

Post Reply