Windows Vista RTM has leaked

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Fusion
Donator
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:39 pm
Location: Lab06

Windows Vista RTM has leaked

Post by Fusion »

Windows Vista RTM has leaked on to newsgroups, not long for them to leak on many P2P sites as well. The build leaked is in fact x86 Build 6000.16386.
The key supplied with the leaked RTM does not go with the build but still gives you the option to install without a cdkey. There is a rumored activation crack floating around on many newsgroups. Bad day for MS but this just will give them more time to beef up security.

-Fusion

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

I knew it would happen sooner or later... ::wink:

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Downloading to the FTP, ETA 15mins Thats assuming it works of course. Downloading at 970KB/s, uploading at 500KB/s on the torrent

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Microsoft themselves might release the same thing themselves as a trial at some stage, I guess. With it looking hard to use Vista without a valid key, they might be confident enough to do a trial version of Vista (like they do Server 2003 trials).

Anyway, good to here that we'll be getting it very soon
Image

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

5 mins left

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Andy, that's amazing, I'll surely try it out. A connection as fast as yours must be the best for torrents

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12621
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

Its done

Jordan
FTP Access
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:45 am

Post by Jordan »

This is great . I'm trying to get a copy to test for myself, or I might just use as my main OS.

DJ 2501
FTP Access
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:16 pm
Location: Ohio USA

Post by DJ 2501 »

I cant wait to see the new vista

Fusion
Donator
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Oct 20, 2006 11:39 pm
Location: Lab06

Post by Fusion »

Windows.Vista.RTM.Activation.Crack-iND - Comfirmed Working.

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

Fusion wrote:Windows.Vista.RTM.Activation.Crack-iND - Comfirmed Working.
May I have the link through PM?
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Amplificator
FTP Access
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 12:42 pm
Location: Denmark

Post by Amplificator »

Currently there is 3 cracks for RTM that lets people activate using their beta/rc key.

All 3 cracks do the same, just released by different groups.
I posted the names of the releases in this thread: http://www.betaarchive.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=434

..along with the All In One DVD of Vista containing both 32Bit and 64Bit, although I don't have a connection fast enough to upload it unless I want to spend alot of hours on doing it.

tpemail
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am
Location: China
Contact:

Post by tpemail »

Just downloaded it yesterday but haven't got enough time to test it...

btw, is the build "6000.16385.061030-1720" avaliable on somewhere?
(PM or MSN please)

Beta Freak
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

This build isnt actually the very final one.
There was one on the 8th November which may have more stuff in it, but I doubt it.

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

the november 8th one is an internal build i think, and the one we have now is the RTM one

boboy2u

Post by boboy2u »

If you guys have any build with the names Bill Gates. It's fake.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

boboy2u wrote:If you guys have any build with the names Bill Gates. It's fake.
In what way? It works for me, and is the November 1st build.
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@Vista Ultimate R2
What's the RAM usage right after booting up? Can you please check that for me? I haven't had the time to install that build, yet. Performance is okay for you in VMware, isn't it?

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

Any further discussion of cracks and this topic is locked. Just a fair warning.
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

empireum wrote:What's the RAM usage right after booting up? Can you please check that for me? I haven't had the time to install that build, yet. Performance is okay for you in VMware, isn't it?
I've made a few screenshots of the task manager - I left it a few minutes after booting but not doing anything, as it seems to load quite a few of the services while after logon (I think this is this "Delayed Start" thing that you might have noticed in the Services console). CPU/disk usage is really high for me in that minute or two after logon, although I suppose on a real machine it would probably happen much quicker and without the slowdown. During that time the memory usage of all the tasks is changing a bit, like it does all the time in unstable beta builds, but it settles down after that time where it's still loading stuff is over to be stable like XP.

What you see is before tweaking any services so it's as it would be out-of-the-box (complete with nonsense wasting resources - I think there's a Tablet PC service on by default, or at least there was in the beta), although there are 2 VMware Tools services in there.

The VM is allocated 512 MB RAM - memory usage may be higher on a machine with more Ram as I think Vista scales what it takes to how much is available.

Image Image Image

Performance isn't bad - boot and logon is a bit long, but once you've let it load everything after logon the start menu appears instantly, Explorer windows take about 1 second to open (the outline and title bar (or should we say title-less bar now?!) appear first, and then the contents of the windows a second later - once the window is open, navigating to another is really quick, although it's annoying that all the filenames in the system32 folder have vanished for me!), IE takes about 2 or 3 seconds to load on first load since boot, WMP about the same length of time, context menus are instant, dragging windows around the screen is smooth. It is slower than XP etc are in VMware, but not horribly so, and I imagine on a real machine you wouldn’t notice the difference (certainly some say it's faster because the graphics work is passed on to the GPU, which on XP isn't doing much)
Image

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
empireum wrote:What's the RAM usage right after booting up? Can you please check that for me? I haven't had the time to install that build, yet. Performance is okay for you in VMware, isn't it?
I've made a few screenshots of the task manager - I left it a few minutes after booting but not doing anything, as it seems to load quite a few of the services while after logon (I think this is this "Delayed Start" thing that you might have noticed in the Services console). CPU/disk usage is really high for me in that minute or two after logon, although I suppose on a real machine it would probably happen much quicker and without the slowdown. During that time the memory usage of all the tasks is changing a bit, like it does all the time in unstable beta builds, but it settles down after that time where it's still loading stuff is over to be stable like XP.

What you see is before tweaking any services so it's as it would be out-of-the-box (complete with nonsense wasting resources - I think there's a Tablet PC service on by default, or at least there was in the beta), although there are 2 VMware Tools services in there.

The VM is allocated 512 MB RAM - memory usage may be higher on a machine with more Ram as I think Vista scales what it takes to how much is available.

Image Image Image

Performance isn't bad - boot and logon is a bit long, but once you've let it load everything after logon the start menu appears instantly, Explorer windows take about 1 second to open (the outline and title bar (or should we say title-less bar now?!) appear first, and then the contents of the windows a second later), IE takes about 2 or 3 seconds to load on first load since boot, WMP about the same length of time, context menus are instant, dragging windows around the screen is smooth. It is slower than XP etc are in VMware, but not horribly so, and I imagine on a real machine you wouldn’t notice the difference (certainly some say it's faster because the graphics work is passed on to the GPU, which on XP isn't doing much)
Thanks for all that information and the screenshots Yes, when judging the performance, you should always remember that you're running it in a VM. When I was running some Vista/Longhorn (Server) beta builds in Parallels Desktop on my Intel Mac, it ran smoothly most of the time, although it hogged one of the cores, sometimes completely (but as there was a second core, this was no real problem). It was certainly not slow, but I have experienced some really short pauses (maybe half a second) that only occurred when running Vista/Longhorn, not with other guest OSes. Maybe that's because Parallels doesn't "officially" support Vista 100%, it's still classified as experimental, IIRC.

I can't comment on the high CPU usage after boot-up thing as I haven't looked in the Task Manager (and the VM always hogs the core it's running on...), but as yours, my OS was completely untweaked, I only disabled the Vista UI and switched back to the good old Windows 2000 Classic theme. But as I have also run Vista Starter in a VM, there shouldn't have been much unnecessary services running as Starter doesn't support a lot of the stuff found in the higher editions (although there was quite a bunch of services running indeed).

Booting and logging on has always been fast for me, but I have to say this Intel Mac is a screamer I've had it (the VM) set to 512MB of RAM, too. More was unnecessary for my tests and it was enough.

My actual question is, however: How does it feel compared to the last beta you were running (was it RC2?)? Is it faster, smoother, anything like that?

edit: Looking at the Task Manager, the RAM usage of RTM is lower than in the beta builds, as these have always used like 270-300MB or more after booting up and here it's "just" ~230MB. Removal of some debug code? And there are less processes if I remember correctly.

PS: The 230MB of RAM seem to be a kind of a "sweetest spot" in Vista – the betas wouldn't boot with less than ~220MB of RAM. Could you do a test with only 256MB of RAM? Just to know what it feels like.

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

empireum wrote:My actual question is, however: How does it feel compared to the last beta you were running (was it RC2?)? Is it faster, smoother, anything like that?
Hard to say really, as they always feel a little slow in the VM. Possibly Explorer windows etc open slightly faster, although 5744 was also reasonably fast I thought. The desktop seems to form quickly after the welcome screen goes when logging on, which is nice. The main annoyance with this build compared with the betas is not being able to activate! I actually remember thinking when getting my keys off MS and activating during the beta something like "if only the final version worked in this way - just grab your key and activate!"
Image

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

The "BillGates"-Release has an error, but there is a magic program with patches the ISO to an great working MSDN-one
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

cooled
FTP Access
Posts: 66
Joined: Tue Sep 19, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by cooled »

the billgates release itself is nuked with 5840 +5744 files.

Jordan
FTP Access
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:45 am

Post by Jordan »

cooled wrote:the billgates release itself is nuked with 5840 +5744 files.
I'm running it now, should I be concerned?

Post Reply