Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 Beta

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Microsoft Virtual PC 2007 Beta

Post by Beta Freak »

Haven't seen a thread about this yet and was wondering has anybody installed it yet? I can't yet because there is a bug which is stopping you from installing it on XP Home instaed of just warning you.
Is there any UI changes or any other big changes?

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

I've downloaded it but haven't installed it yet as I wasn't sure whether it would mess up VPC2004, which I still want to be able to run normally. Can you have two versions installed at the same time, especially as it installs systemwide things like network drivers where a new version might break VPC2004?
Image

IsaacD
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 557
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am
Location: Lismore, NSW, Australia

Post by IsaacD »

10 long years, frig the scene anymore.

Kids think they have deep in sources at the age of 12, why bother caring when no one receives respect anymore, they assume bullcrap, but that's all they are.
Last edited by IsaacD on Sat Feb 23, 2008 12:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Ah OK then, I'll leave 2007 as I do use VPC and don't want to rely on beta software (I tend to avoid putting beta software on my main setup anyway and keep it inside virtual machines, but of course with this you can't really try it in a VM!).

By the way, Paul Thurrott's got a few screenshots of it up at http://www.winsupersite.com/showcase/wi ... _beta1.asp - looks pretty much identical to 2004 to me, except that Vista is listed in the list of OS choices when setting up a VM.
Image

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

Ah thanks for the link. Hope they change some of the looks before it goes final.

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

i never really likes vpc, i dunno why, i just prefere vmware
The better candies are in the cage

tpemail
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am
Location: China
Contact:

Post by tpemail »

I just hope that they'll make a x64 version soon...
Also, why don't they just create a program to let us able to access the VHD directly...it's pretty silly that I have to launch the system on that VHD and set up the Virtual Network just to send some files to the host..

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

vpc take up way toooo much space for my liking. only install it when it is really needed, like playing some old school games

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

tpemail wrote:I just hope that they'll make a x64 version soon...
Also, why don't they just create a program to let us able to access the VHD directly...it's pretty silly that I have to launch the system on that VHD and set up the Virtual Network just to send some files to the host..
Do you mean the ability to have VPC running x64 Windows? Or have a guest x64. Because there is x64 host version.

tpemail
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am
Location: China
Contact:

Post by tpemail »

Beta Freak wrote: Do you mean the ability to have VPC running x64 Windows? Or have a guest x64. Because there is x64 host version.
It'll be the best if I can run x64 as guest, of course.
btw, is that x64 host a stable version (not beta?)

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

32bit and 64 bit host are both in Beta. (VPC 2007)

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Virtual PC 2007 can be run on an x64 host and on an x64 OS, but it cannot run x64 OSes as of yet, unfortunately...

Prog
FTP Access
Posts: 41
Joined: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:31 am

Post by Prog »

VPC 2004 was the best virtual machine software I have used. I haven't installed this new 2007 beta, but I probably will check it out eventually. I've got a ton of VMs on my Windows box.
The above post is brought to you by me not listening in class and posting here instead. :D

mtttt

Post by mtttt »

Can i Download the beta
and where

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Register on MS Connect.

mtttt

Post by mtttt »

cool then i must download it

ophsj

VPC 2007

Post by ophsj »

Were can i find the download to Virtual Pc 2007??

And does anyone know if its good?

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

It's available on MS Connect I believe.

Sadly I've not been able to try it yet because it refuses to install on Windows 2003 and I haven't bothered trying to make it work yet.

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

I got it working on XP Home by installing in quiet mode. See the feedback on Connect called Allow Support for XP Home then workarounds.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Did anyone try to install on "unsupported" Vista versions (Starter, Home Basic, Home Premium)? Does it work or does it give an eror message?

Beta Freak
FTP Access
Posts: 786
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 12:05 am

Post by Beta Freak »

It gives an error and quits the installer but like I said, you can get past it.
They say it will be fixed in a later build.

betaistheway

Post by betaistheway »

I have used both MS Virtual PC and VMware and I must say VMware is far more better than MS Virtual PC

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

For mainstream OSes VMware offers its tools for, yes, completely agreed. But VPC is preferred when running more exotic OSes. Comparing the functionality and "experience", VMware wins hands down, it's also my favourite.

AnDrEwP182
FTP Access
Posts: 342
Joined: Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm
Location: Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Post by AnDrEwP182 »

well, VMware is just so much more reliable and small and it can run other OSes than Windows...

betaistheway

Post by betaistheway »

I have found I can give it my full system memory as well and it runs fine, unlike VPC which when I give it all the RAM with even just a 98SE installation it crashes my PC and it reboots.

Post Reply