BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 24d, 6h, 52m | CPU: 43% | MEM: 5945MB of 10947MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:51 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:13 am

Posts
56

Favourite OS
Gentoo Linux
So I was just reading up about MS-DOS (out of curiosity and nostalgia)

And I read that Windows Me actually has a newer version of DOS it is built on (should have been obvious, but y'know)

So my question is, has anyone managed to find a way to get the old DOS commandline out of ME and stick it into the DOS 6.22 installer? In other words, has anyone found a way to install MS-DOS 8.0 without ME on top of it?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sat Jan 19, 2013 11:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
1753

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
MinWin
You can use a Windows ME bootdisk to boot into DOS 8.

_________________
Image
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:30 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:16 pm

Posts
99

Location
Germany

Favourite OS
Windows 386 & MS-DOS 3.31
Lluixhi wrote:
So I was just reading up about MS-DOS (out of curiosity and nostalgia)

And I read that Windows Me actually has a newer version of DOS it is built on (should have been obvious, but y'know)

So my question is, has anyone managed to find a way to get the old DOS commandline out of ME and stick it into the DOS 6.22 installer? In other words, has anyone found a way to install MS-DOS 8.0 without ME on top of it?

The russian website http://www.multiboot.ru/msdos8.htm has an instruction how to modify the IO.SYS and COMMAND.COM from Windows ME DOS/MS-DOS 8 to use it on the hard disk.
IO.SYS and COMMAND.COM are from the Windows ME Retail CD, which is bootable.
The XMS driver (HIMEM.SYS) is integrated into IO.SYS.
IO.SYS was compressed by MS to make it smaller.
SYS.COM is from Windows 98SE.
FORMAT.COM is OFORMAT.COM from the Windows XP Professional installation disc. "X:\SUPPORT\TOOLS\DEPLOY.CAB"

You cannot use Windows 3.x in the Enhanced Mode, because its XMS driver is causing some problems. In addition you cannot load EMM386.EXE or other EMS memory manger. DriveSpace is not supported and DBLSPACE.SYS/DRIVESPACE.SYS will not load.

I have read the instruction and made a modification of IO.SYS and COMMAND.COM. I have modified the MS-DOS system files with HxD Hex Editor.

The MS-DOS 8 Startup Menu:
Image

MS-DOS 8 without starting device drivers:
Image

How install MS-DOS 8:
-Extract the MS-DOS 8.IMA diskette image.
-Start VirtualBox and boot from it.
-Use FDISK.EXE and after reboot FORMAT.COM C: /Q /S
Optionally use: SYS.COM A: C:

Offtopic Comment
Can someone help me to modify IO.SYS from MS-DOS 8 to start Windows 3.x into the Enhanced Mode without problems?

_________________
Image
Microsoft Windows/386 -The Soul of the New Machines-


Last edited by Windows 386 on Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 4:50 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Jun 25, 2012 12:13 am

Posts
56

Favourite OS
Gentoo Linux
Cool, thanks!

One question though, how do you get the files from the "DOS8" folder into the virtualbox? xD


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 7:15 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 08, 2010 6:06 am

Posts
240

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 2195
MS-DOS 8 is included in Windows 8 too, even the 64-bit version, for use when formatting floppies as MS-DOS startup disks. (Windows 8 supports 5.25" floppies too, but you can't format those as MS-DOS disks as the Windows XP/Vista/7/8 disk image is from a 3.5" disk)

The disk image is in diskcopy.dll, in both the system32 and syswow64 directories.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 12:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
1753

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
MinWin
Lluixhi wrote:
Cool, thanks!

One question though, how do you get the files from the "DOS8" folder into the virtualbox? xD

I think you need to copy the files. The files in DOS8 folder aren't neccessary, the system will still run if the files aren't present.

_________________
Image
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2013 1:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:16 pm

Posts
99

Location
Germany

Favourite OS
Windows 386 & MS-DOS 3.31
Lluixhi wrote:
Cool, thanks!

One question though, how do you get the files from the "DOS8" folder into the virtualbox? xD


You are right. I should create a Boot CD. I deleted the old link, because it is obsolete.
But I have uploaded a new MSDOS 8.7z archive on Google Drive:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzEfpKS ... pWWlU/edit

It does contain a Boot-CD: Microsoft MS-DOS 8.0 Boot CD.iso
In addition there are two bootdisks:
MS-DOS 8.IMA (When you have problems with the device drivers. Failsafe)
MS-DOS 8 with device drivers.IMA (With mouse driver, cd-rom driver, DOSKEY and SMARTDRV)

_________________
Image
Microsoft Windows/386 -The Soul of the New Machines-


Last edited by Windows 386 on Mon Jan 28, 2013 10:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sat Jan 26, 2013 11:17 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:14 pm

Posts
5

Favourite OS
7601
My MS-DOS 8.0 Patch for Windows XP, Vista or Seven can create MS-DOS 8.0 bootdisk with core files
Code:
IO.SYS
COMMAND.COM
MSDOS.SYS
FORMAT.COM
SYS.COM
FDISK.EXE


All files are independent of the version of DOS and compatible with MS-DOS 7.10

DOS for NTFS BootDisk 1.44 dos4ntfs.img in my download page


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Sun Jan 27, 2013 12:11 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 23, 2012 10:16 pm

Posts
99

Location
Germany

Favourite OS
Windows 386 & MS-DOS 3.31
0ffer wrote:
My MS-DOS 8.0 Patch for Windows XP, Vista or Seven can create MS-DOS 8.0 bootdisk with core files
Code:
IO.SYS
COMMAND.COM
MSDOS.SYS
FORMAT.COM
SYS.COM
FDISK.EXE


All files are independent of the version of DOS and compatible with MS-DOS 7.10

DOS for NTFS BootDisk 1.44 dos4ntfs.img in my download page

Hello 0ffer. Thank you for your instruction on multiboot.ru. :)
Do you have an idea how to run Windows 3.x in the Enhanced Mode under MS-DOS 8?
I know there was a Win3xStart path for uncompressed IO.SYS. I used it and Windows 3.x does not show the message about the compatibility on MS-DOS 8. But the XMS driver from IO.SYS makes some problems.

_________________
Image
Microsoft Windows/386 -The Soul of the New Machines-


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:25 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am

Posts
1121

Location
Brisbane, Queensland

Favourite OS
OS/2 Wrp 3.0
I've done a heavily modified version of this too, although not scripted.

Mostly consists of deversion and some utility replaces.

w


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 9:37 am 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:14 pm

Posts
5

Favourite OS
7601
Quote:
Do you have an idea how to run Windows 3.x in the Enhanced Mode under MS-DOS 8?


I tried in31 in extended mode on Dosboks does not work, also not loaded emm386.exe
No idea...


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:45 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Aug 12, 2012 4:33 pm

Posts
1753

Location
Czechia

Favourite OS
MinWin
0ffer wrote:
Quote:
Do you have an idea how to run Windows 3.x in the Enhanced Mode under MS-DOS 8?


I tried in31 in extended mode on Dosboks does not work, also not loaded emm386.exe
No idea...

MS-DOS != DOSBox... 8-)

_________________
Image
AlphaBeta, stop brainwashing me immediately!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: MS-DOS 8.0        Posted: Mon Jan 28, 2013 8:21 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Sun Apr 15, 2012 6:14 pm

Posts
5

Favourite OS
7601
Quote:
MS-DOS != DOSBox

Boot from floppy image with Win31Enh on MSDOS8


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS