WindowsBlinds 6 is wild.

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
Andrew
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:10 pm
Location: New Zealand

WindowsBlinds 6 is wild.

Post by Andrew »

This is probably completely old to a lot of you, but I just noticed WindowBlinds 6 is out!

It was released 2nd October, and supports both Vista and XP.

Here's a screenshot of my XP PC right now.

Blurring in XP is pretty cool, no aero light-rays on window borders though, so it doesn't pass off as Vista RTM.
Image

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

is it much of a resource hog?

Andrew
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:10 pm
Location: New Zealand

Post by Andrew »

Nope, I was actually quite amazed - my computer is going a lot faster than it did when WindowBlinds 5 was installed, here's taskmgr ordered by Memory usage - I can't even tell which process WB6 is:

Image
Image

kLOTTiS
FTP Access
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2006 8:45 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by kLOTTiS »

It's normally incorporated into explorer.exe, my explorer.exe was using about 20mb before I installed Windowblinds 6, now uses about 60mb-70mb

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

I used to use WindowBlinds (4 + 5) but I had a slower PC at the time... might retry it some day... depending on how much RAM it likes to eat up

Freak180

Post by Freak180 »

Windows blinds never seem to work on my pc

Ludacris
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 601
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 10:56 pm
Location: Vienna, Austria
Contact:

Post by Ludacris »

WB6 uses almost no RAM.... I even think about buying it...

t2bedlam
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2007 2:24 am

Post by t2bedlam »

I am a dextopx freak myself. I have always neglected to use windowblinds due to the memory resources. but version 6 only adds about 1 meg to my explorer. so no prob and is very quick where it used to be slow on drawing graphics before even with a good video card.
(¯`·.¸¸.·´¯`·-=BeDLaM=- @ TiMeS2 FxP·´¯`·.¸¸.·´¯)

Peteski
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Halifax, UK
Contact:

Post by Peteski »

ChasingVertigo wrote:Nope, I was actually quite amazed - my computer is going a lot faster than it did when WindowBlinds 5 was installed, here's taskmgr ordered by Memory usage - I can't even tell which process WB6 is:
windowblinds 6 doesn't have a process in the tradition sense. it just loads its server dll (wbsrv.dll) on boot.

Locked