Problems installing Chicago 58s

Discuss Windows 95, 98 and ME.
Post Reply
MJCfromCT

Problems installing Chicago 58s

Post by MJCfromCT »

Hi everyone,

I'm having a bit of difficulty installing and running Chicago 58s. My current setup is this:

VMware, with DOS 6.22, Windows 3.11 installed. I pop in the Chicago CD and run setup.exe...it asks me about installing the extras, I say "yes", and then it proceeds to copy all the files and restart the VM. I then see the Chicago boot screen, but instead of proceeding to windows, I get a screen with a line of garbled text, and the VM hangs at this point.

I'm not sure if the issue is related to the software configuration on my VM (I'm relatively new to this, so I'm not sure if DOS 6.22 and Chicago 58s "go together", so to speak), or if it is related to the video settings (set to default VGA, which 3.11 runs fine with).

If I was too vague with anything, or if you need more details regarding my setup, just let me know. Thanks in advance.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

EDIT:

Just checked my copy of chicago, you must use the BOOTDISK provided in the .RAR check this readme:

[quote]
This build of Chicago 58s has been fixed by KenOath. When the setup
is complete it will say that it wants to edit both the Autoexec.bat
file + the Config.sys file on your boot floppy. Just click cancel &
the installation will then finalise soon after the network files are
installed.It will boot first go with 90 files & buffers in the
config.sys file.

The only trouble I had after install was if the motherboard was too
late a model or if the video card was too late. Most isa video cards
work perfect, but another note to remember is don't change any video
settings whatsoever,it'll crash the system on restart - that is unless
you find drivers for the card that are accepted by the system.

On first reboot when it asks for your Beta-site ID - any six numbers
will work.

if you want to run the MS-Dos prompt within windows you'll get an error
message about not having a Program Information File properties icon
-or pif properties, dont worry just click ignore & run & now a pif
icon has been produced.

I could have made 58s install with CD-Rom support but every driver I
tried just slowed the system down + after spending 4 days & nights I
figured it was'nt worth it . If you find a cd-driver that is
compatible i'd love to here about it.

Be sure to use the Boot-disk I supply with this Fix & you should'nt
have any problems at all.

Cheers to all the beta buffs out there . Enjoy ! ...KenOath...
[/qoute]

But change the time anyway to be sure.

Code: Select all

Did you changed the [b]BIOS[/b] time.

Just click [b]F2[/b] and then change the time.
In VMWare it holds the time when booting.

If you use Virtual PC you must change a line of code the hold the time 
otherwise it resets.

MJCfromCT

Post by MJCfromCT »

Thanks, DjRob. I'm not sure if the version I downloaded came with its' own bootdisk, but I will check later today and report any progress I've made.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

You have enough post, apply at the memberslist en if accepted download it from the FTP, there it will have the bootdisk.

Fagutish

Post by Fagutish »

I'm not yet a true member but just out of curiosity:

Is this bootdisk a floppy image that boots up some sort of 3rd party made system to get the install working from a CD image or is it something made by Microsoft employees back in the day?

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

No the most are original bootdisk and otherwise you can use an normal windows bootdisk.
They work just like Windows 98 Bootdisk, The load a few files and generic CD-ROM drivers for to begin the install from the cd-rom

Post Reply