Microsoft V-Chat Server

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
callumh
User avatar
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: teen4m.net
Contact:

Microsoft V-Chat Server

Post by callumh »

Hello all,

First topic I've started here at BetaArchive, anyway...

I am looking for a V-Chat server so I can use the 1995 Microsoft V-Chat application, which is similar to IMVU. I know already that its based on IRC but I can't find a IRC-compatible server anywhere.

Any help would be appreciated.

callumh
User avatar
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: teen4m.net
Contact:

Post by callumh »

Anyone?

I've got Microsoft Exchange Server 5.5, but it needs IIS2.0 just to install chat services!

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

You don't need any specific IRC server as far as I know ... last time I played with Comic Chat, I just used some random IRCd that I found on the net and it worked fine. As long as everyone in the room is using Comic Chat everything should be fine, anyone using other clients will probably see a few interesting codes every now and then.

EDIT: My bad, i thought V-Chat and Comic Chat were the same thing when they're completely different... But still, couldn't you use any old IRC server?
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

callumh
User avatar
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Jul 24, 2007 10:15 pm
Location: teen4m.net
Contact:

Post by callumh »

To be completely honest, I've not tried with any other IRC server. I'll fire it up with the freenode servers and check...

Well so far we have the following in the log:

Code: Select all

--Info--  Connecting to "irc.freenode.net"...Connected.
--Info--  Online, but not in a room.  Server: irc.freenode.net
--Info--  Entering "##php"...
And I'm waiting for it to load.

Still waiting... all it says is "Retrieving room list"...

Gave up and trying again.

Yes, my bad it was, I must have clicked on something instead of "Enter Room".

Problem is now that its NOT a 3D chat room, just a standard IRC one! So naturally, I just clicked the "V-Chat rooms" button, and guess what! 0 out of 4260 rooms found!

My conclusion: I need a V-Chat compatible IRC server.

Post Reply