Can't install Longhorn Server Build 5308

Discuss Windows Vista, 7, 8.x, 10 and Windows Server 2008, 2008R2, 2012, 2016, 2019, Home Server, SBS 2008, SBS 2011.
Post Reply
Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Can't install Longhorn Server Build 5308

Post by Luckie »

I wanted to install the Server part from Build 5308.17, but I can't select the hdd partition. I got a message "Unable to determine size of installation image. Please verify that the image is still accessible and try again".

What does it mean?
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Re: Can't install Longhorn Server Build 5308

Post by XDude »

Luckie wrote:I wanted to install the Server part from Build 5308.17, but I can't select the hdd partition. I got a message "Unable to determine size of installation image. Please verify that the image is still accessible and try again".

What does it mean?
5308.17 is a staged build, all staged builds are client only.

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

oh, but why does the Setup takes the Server key without a warning?
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

Luckie wrote:oh, but why does the Setup takes the Server key without a warning?
That's because its a beta

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

ok, so could you please reupload the unstaged Build 5308.60 to the ftp server?
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

XDude
Donator
Posts: 1518
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:40 am

Post by XDude »

maybe later
I need to rip it again but I currently have no space.

Namronia

Post by Namronia »

try pressing shift+f10 and...

Code: Select all

diskpart

Code: Select all

list disk

Code: Select all

select disk 0

Code: Select all

create partition primary

Code: Select all

list partition

Code: Select all

select partition 1

Code: Select all

format
then restart and it should work

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

@Namronia
XDude already said the problem occured because the image used doesn't contain any server OS-specific parts. This doesn't have anything to do with the partitioning.

Post Reply