windows home server install problem

Discuss Windows 2000, NT, XP and Windows Server 2000, 2003, SBS 2003.
Post Reply
Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

windows home server install problem

Post by Dr Eggman »

When i try to install it in a vm, it says "no hard drive capable of installing, would you like to install additional drivers?" i then choose one then it says, "txtsetup.oem not found, please refer to the windows home server documentation for more information.
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Try to install it VMWare with an IDE hard drive not a SCSI.
Because this version doesn't read the SCSI emulated.
And be sure you have a 80GB Hard drive, dynamicly expanding.

Dr Eggman
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 321
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 8:25 pm
Location: Eggmanland/Toronto
Contact:

Post by Dr Eggman »

So, i need to install it in 80GB?
I am The Eggman! -The Doctor
Like Pictures? Bored? Check out some Photography and "Like" it! Check it out here!

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

A few easy steps:

1. Open VMWare and make a new virtual machine based on a windows server 2003 small business.

2. When the hardware infoscreen apears click on: EDIT VIRTUAL MACHINE SETTINGS

3. Click by HARDWARE on the HARD DISK en then on REMOVE button.
4. Click on the bottom on ADD... button
5. Add a hard disk. (default option)
6. Create a new virtual harddisk.
7. Virtual disk type: IDE
8. Size is must be 80GB otherwise the installer says is to small.
9. Leave the name.
10. Finish and exit the hardware settings and startup the virtual machine with the DVD or ISO and then you can install it with no problem.

Edit:
Also make sure you have 512MB RAM for PE and the components when installed
Last edited by Rob Jansen on Sun Sep 02, 2007 10:08 am, edited 1 time in total.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Dr Eggman wrote:So, i need to install it in 80GB?
You need an IDE disk of at least 32GB, yes. Stupid, but true.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

@empireum:

I have read it somewhere that is must be 80GB.
But i can be wrong.

luca1988
FTP Access
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:28 pm

Post by luca1988 »

hi! three weeks ago i tried to install Windows Home Server RC1 on my Virtual Machine but the installation failed! Tomorrow i'm going to try with 80GB Virtual HD! Thanks

luca1988
FTP Access
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:28 pm

Post by luca1988 »

ok. i installed the RC1 on VPC2007! Thanks!

But i heard that Windows Home Server should have been released in these days... but nothing happened! Why??

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

luca1988 wrote:ok. i installed the RC1 on VPC2007! Thanks!

But i heard that Windows Home Server should have been released in these days... but nothing happened! Why??
Depending on where you are, it's already available. I know at least that it's available in Australia for A$249. A bit expensive, but totally worth it I guess.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

luca1988
FTP Access
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:28 pm

Post by luca1988 »

I live in Italy... No WHS right now...

thanks!

Post Reply