BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 50d, 7h, 28m | CPU: 15% | MEM: 6136MB of 11059MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Rhapsody cd corrupt        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 8:58 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
Hey gang,
I just downloaded one of the few remaining Rhapsody isos on the net and neither nero or winrar would recognise the image. Do I need a special program to burn it or is it just plain corrupt?

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:35 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Sounds like it is just corrupt. Try downloading it again.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:51 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
Its strange because the zip file that contained it wasnt corrupt

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:52 pm 
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
intellivision wrote:
Its strange because the zip file that contained it wasnt corrupt


The ISO itself is probably corrupt before it was even zipped. Id look for another source of the file.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:35 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
Well, I had been searching for a while and that was the best lead that I had because all of the servers, including yours.

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 10:39 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
You did try to just burn it, not open it? Just that you mentioned WinRar, and the only thing you could have done with that is try to open the image and see the files inside, which won't work because none of the standard Windows tools will "open" the Rhapsody ISO and display its files, but they will burn it without opening it.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:12 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
nero managed to burn a blank disk. how does it DO that?

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 11:21 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
You tried booting VMware from the Rhapsody boot floppies and using this CD to install, and it didn't work? (just checking, because it may look like a blank disc in Windows because Rhapsody discs use a special filesystem that you won't be able to see in Windows)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:16 am 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Vista Ultimate R2 is perfectly right. The Rhapsody disc probably uses an UFS file system which Windows doesn't have a clue about and thus, the CD will appear blank. Open the image with ISOBuster or something like that and look what it says. Anyway, you should try to install Rhapsody from the CD/ISO because that's about the only safe way to tell if the ISO is okay or not.

I just checked my Rhapsody DR2 x86 image that I used to install the system (so I know it works), and even Mac OS X says it doesn't have any recognized file systems. (But it recognizes my Mac OS X Server 1.0 CD just fine)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:23 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
Well, my computer didnt recognise the cd as bootable but I havnt found a program that can write the .fs install disks

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Last edited by intellivision on Wed Jun 27, 2007 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:30 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
intellivision wrote:
Well, my computer didnt recognise the cd as bootable but I havnt found a program that can write the install disks

The CD isn't bootable. If you're on Windows, try using dd from http://www.chrysocome.net/downloads/dd-0.5.zip. Extract the file to a directory in the path (your users directory, maybe) and write the images like that:
Code:
dd if=image of=\\.\a:

Replace image with the name of the actual floppy images.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:31 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
The CD is not bootable - you must boot using the two boot floppies. Just download them, and then point VMware at the first image (I don't know what you need to use to make actual floppies, but VMware will boot from the images, if you tell it to look for all types of floppy image rather than just the types that it wants to look for by default).

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 7:11 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:01 pm

Posts
140

Location
Toulouse,France
Yes, the CD isn't bootable and you cannot open It with winimage/winrar.

_________________
"Do the best, with the less" ;-)


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:18 pm 
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Posts
128
Its okay, I got it working finally. This topic is no longer needed.

_________________
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:14 pm 
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Closed


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 15 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS