OMG

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Locked
___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

OMG

Post by ___ »

i almost lost my vista ultimate key i got from being on the beta (costs like $900 here). luckly i saved it in my 'digital locker' on windows marketplace

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

that would seriously blow
write the sucker down!!

and put it in a safe XD
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Is it not also stored on the Connect site like the beta keys are, or did they give it to you in a different way than the system where you get beta keys and they are all listed on the site?
Image

s_nd
Posts: 42
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 1:09 pm

Post by s_nd »

it is just displayed and sent to the testers inbox. its in your inbox isnt it?

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

it was stored on the connect site but not anymore. i looked in my emails but i couldn't find it. i have writen it down now though (stuck to my monitor)

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

___ wrote:i have writen it down now though (stuck to my monitor)
*Sneaks past your window with a pair of binoculars and a notepad*
Image

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

i'll say it straight up
go to a computer store with a camera phone and snap pictures of the serial numbers...
Did and how i have about a dozen serials, covering every version of vista
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Could you activate those on any PC though, or only the brand of PC that they are meant for? Are they like those multiple activation OEM keys where you have to use that bios emulation driver for them to work, or are individual OEM keys different? Also, is Vista like XP and previous Windows versions, where to use an OEM key you need a different install disc (or at least the pid files from the OEM disc)? I've never seen an OEM Vista disc image available online if they are different to the retail ones.
Image

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

i doubt the images are significantly different.
however you can use an OEM serial on a store computer with a fresh install of vista, as long as its the same vista version. This is because vista is all in one image, all versions in one. So if you copy a serial, then somehow obtain the Vista RTM x86/x64 DVD, and start the install, then put in the serial, and it will automatically install the correct version for that serial.
however what i mean is copying of the actualy boxes with the install DVDs, most of the time they are in clear larger plastic boxes to prevent theft, however this actually helps theft...
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

spaceship9 wrote:however what i mean is copying of the actualy boxes with the install DVDs, most of the time they are in clear larger plastic boxes to prevent theft, however this actually helps theft...
How can you see the serials inside the box though? To see the serial you have to slide out the bit that holds the disc and manual as it is stuck on the back of there, and you couldn't do that unless you'd broken the seal on the box. Unless you mean the OEM boxes, which are more like standard plastic DVD cases - they may have the serial number more visible, I don't know, I haven't seen one of those close up.
Image

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1915
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

i had to ring microsoft to activate it because it was already 'activated' (i had upgrade my computer and gone to xp). I could have just used a keyfinder on someones computer and activated

spaceship9
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 201
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 7:05 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Post by spaceship9 »

Vista Ultimate R2 wrote:
spaceship9 wrote:however what i mean is copying of the actualy boxes with the install DVDs, most of the time they are in clear larger plastic boxes to prevent theft, however this actually helps theft...
How can you see the serials inside the box though? To see the serial you have to slide out the bit that holds the disc and manual as it is stuck on the back of there, and you couldn't do that unless you'd broken the seal on the box. Unless you mean the OEM boxes, which are more like standard plastic DVD cases - they may have the serial number more visible, I don't know, I haven't seen one of those close up.
No, its on the top of the box....
shiny sticker, says "Windows Genuine" or some crap.
though its harder with Vista Ultimate RTM because the store rarely puts them out, generally its just the upgrade... but they always leave out home and business.
and office '07, which blows IMHO
Image

If you're havin' IE problems, I feel bad for you, son - I got 99 problems but a browser ain't one. - DJ Danger Mime


Image
include email

Locked