Dell: what your new PC with half a gig of Ram can do...

Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Forum rules
Any off topic discussions should go in this forum. Post count is not increased by posting here.
FTP Access status is required to post in this forum. Find out how to get it
Post Reply
Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Dell: what your new PC with half a gig of Ram can do...

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Straight from Dell: what is one of their new PCs with half a gig of Ram good for? Running XP and some pretty recent games perhaps? Nope, with that specification, you will be able to do so much: this configuration is great for...wait for it...Booting The OS! Suddenly booting an OS is a big feature of a computer, and the only one they think their cheaper PCs are any good for! If you get a Gig of Ram, you'll apparently be able to not only boot an OS, but also check email and use spreadsheets! Unbelieveable...

Image

From http://www.dell.com/content/topics/glob ... l=en&s=dhs
Image

kichimi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 407
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 3:30 pm
Location: Essex, UK
Contact:

Post by kichimi »

LMAO!!!! oh god, i cant wat to just boot the OS and do nothing else. It would be like staring at a jar of mayonaise
The better candies are in the cage

___
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1914
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 12:19 am
Location: New Zealand

Post by ___ »

but with 1gb you can open the jar!

Andy
User avatar
Administrator
Posts: 12623
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by Andy »

You have to think, they're probably right. Vista sucks up so memory thats all its good for with so little.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Vista is not too bad with just 512MB of RAM. Actually, I've been using it with that amount of RAM for some time in a VM and it's bearable.

Gnome
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2671
Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2006 6:10 pm
Location: Land of The Tea.
Contact:

Post by Gnome »

ive used vista beta1 on a home computer with 700mb ish ram 100mb free!

moonlit
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 514
Joined: Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Post by moonlit »

512MB here, and Vista (of many builds, including RTM) runs just fine. Slightly sluggish with Aero Glass on, but that's probably because my card's only barely DX9 compatible (nV 5200FX, 128MB).

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

haha, thats f****** awsome
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

tpemail
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am
Location: China
Contact:

Post by tpemail »

Wow I can boot up Vista with my old computer!
I don't know that booting up is such a great feature!
Image

Post Reply