BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 7h, 48m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 2284MB of 3669MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Screen resolution problem, please help!        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:46 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
I have installed the newly leaked Build 6801 of Windows 7 in VPC 2007 and installed VMadditions. It all worked fine, ALL the drivers installed successfully. I decided to tweak the screen resolution slightly so everything wouldn't look cramped, and lo and behold! The VP goes into 256 color and stuck at one resolution, the slider will no longer let me adjust the screen resolution settings, and there is no option anywhere to change the screen color back! Booting into safe mode, the screen color is normal, but I don't want to only test Windows 7 in Safe Mode, so could someone please help me? Thankyou! :)

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jan 04, 2008 9:18 pm

Posts
748
Last night I had a problem w/ the resolution on my 22" wide screen monitor, after installing the monitor drivers, no help but installing the new NVidia Vista display drivers gave me my standard recomm resolution for the monitor.

You can try installing new display drivers that worked for me.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 7:55 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
Do you think that either disabling and reenabling the graphics or reinstall the drivers may help? I am running Windows 7 in VPC don't forget. :wink:

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 8:41 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Jun 13, 2008 10:22 am

Posts
2366
Maybe the VM additions updated the video drivers? Open up the display adapter properties and roll the driver back to the previous version. That's the only idea I have.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:08 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 07, 2008 1:35 pm

Posts
571

Location
United Kingdom
So, if I roll back the driver to a Standard VGA driver, then reinstall the driver, should that work?
I wonder if the classic Device Manager is still present as the Hardware and Devices centre from the Longhorn builds appears to be making a comeback! :D

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Oct 31, 2008 9:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:47 am

Posts
557

Location
Lismore, NSW, Australia

Favourite OS
Whistler
squidward_ wrote:
I wonder if the classic Device Manager is still present as the Hardware and Devices centre from the Longhorn builds appears to be making a comeback! :D


Image

_________________
Slavic Wog to the Core!

My Mark; Shall you RIP. 15/06/1960 - 11/04/2014


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS