BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 58d, 9h, 32m | CPU: 18% | MEM: 5012MB of 11933MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:30 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:10 am

Posts
158

Location
Under a rock.

Favourite OS
Windows 7
So, I wanted to use PCem, but I've noticed it didn't had any good hardware to emulate (ROMs) like VGA, SVGA, S3, or any good processors or machines. I wanted to use PCem for testing the betas of Windows 1.0, but because there was reaaally small selection of hardware I couldn't do it. Mainly because I want some good parameters. I've searched for some ROMs but I couldn't find any.

So, where can I find some?

_________________
Heroes of Might and Magic III for life!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:44 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am

Posts
3533

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows, OS/2, DOS
You can go to the softhistory forum to find the latest available branch of PCem (the package there contains the needed roms for proper execution).

_________________
http://forum.softhistory.org


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 4:50 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:05 pm

Posts
516

Location
C:\Users\Archenemy

Favourite OS
Windows Betas
I found the BIOS pack for PCem v8.1.

_________________
@Archenemy betaarchive member

Last edited by Archenemy on Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:00 am, edited 6634564737338 times in total.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:00 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:10 am

Posts
158

Location
Under a rock.

Favourite OS
Windows 7
The only thing I've found there was PCem-X, and when I want to run it, it says that I don't have packet.dll. Where can I find it?

_________________
Heroes of Might and Magic III for life!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:13 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7972
Is it so incredibly hard to do your own search online? I found like 360k hits by looking for it... c'mon people, don't be so freakishly lazy!

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable) :: DiscImageCreator
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:14 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am

Posts
3533

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows, OS/2, DOS
supra107 wrote:
The only thing I've found there was PCem-X, and when I want to run it, it says that I don't have packet.dll. Where can I find it?


WinPCap.

_________________
http://forum.softhistory.org


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:22 pm 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 27, 2014 3:05 pm

Posts
516

Location
C:\Users\Archenemy

Favourite OS
Windows Betas
supra107 wrote:
The only thing I've found there was PCem-X, and when I want to run it, it says that I don't have packet.dll. Where can I find it?

http://bit.ly/17ekPQ2

_________________
@Archenemy betaarchive member

Last edited by Archenemy on Fri Dec 13, 2013 12:00 am, edited 6634564737338 times in total.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 5:36 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 12, 2014 11:10 am

Posts
158

Location
Under a rock.

Favourite OS
Windows 7
I usually don't trust the DLL sites.

Also, what's the difference between the regular PCem and the PCem-X?

_________________
Heroes of Might and Magic III for life!


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Tue Feb 17, 2015 6:00 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Feb 23, 2011 12:11 am

Posts
3533

Location
Italy

Favourite OS
Windows, OS/2, DOS
The difference between regular PCem and PCem-X is that the latter has many FDC improvements and hardware Japanese support (from the AX architecture) and more.

_________________
http://forum.softhistory.org


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 3:58 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Nov 26, 2009 7:14 am

Posts
740

Favourite OS
Windows XP SP2 5.1.2600
Read the source code, search for the filenames.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Wed Feb 18, 2015 12:56 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:13 am

Posts
2016

Location
Slovenia, Central Europe.

Favourite OS
Windows 98 SE 4.10.2222B
Looks like I might have to provide Network-less versions of PCem-X too. Not a big deal, I just have to add an #ifdef around the revelant part and make a second makefile.

_________________
Join #softhistory @ RoL IRC, a nice community for true enthusiasts!
Anime channel: #doki-doki @ RoL IRC, Mibbit, KiwiIRC.
The 86Box help channel is #softhistory now!

Check out our SoftHistory Forum for quality discussion about older software.


Top  Profile  WWW  ICQ  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Where can i find some good PCem ROMs?        Posted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:40 pm 
Reply with quote
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 19, 2015 6:10 pm

Posts
43

Location
Canary Islands/Spain

Favourite OS
DOS 6.20
battler: could you provide just 1 version and the network version definible in a cfg or ini file?
I am sure i am not going to use the network feature, i've put the packet.dll in the pcem-x folder, but not
installed wincap, just the .dll. It works btw :D


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2020

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS