BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 6d, 9h, 42m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 2038MB of 3617MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Drivers        Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 6:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
966

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Hi again, just wanted to know where I can get the drivers for a Compaq V55 monitor, and for the onboard Ethernet card in a Dell Optiplex GX1?

I'm running Windows FLP, and would like to get the machine set up with Internet access, just to use to check my emails and to leave on for extended periods when I'm downloading a particularly large file (Windows Update? :D ). I can't leave my laptop on for days at a stretch, because it overheats very quickly (It's only a little Philips X59).

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:13 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
You wouldn't need a driver for a monitor - are you looking for a graphics card driver instead? Have you checked the Dell website? For FLP just use XP drivers, they're basically the same OS.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Yeah, all you get when looking for a monitor "driver" usually is an INF file telling the OS which resolutions at which frequencies/refresh rates the screen supports, and that's not really important. As for the ethernet driver, seeing it's an Optiplex, it's probably integrated (on the motherboard), so I'd have a look at the Dell website. Use XP drivers, as the poster above me said.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 5:28 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
966

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
The OS is just seeing my monitor as a 'Generic PnP Monitor', and won't let me do anything higher than 1024*768, even though I've seen it do resolutions that are WAY higher.

The ethernet card is on the motherboard, that's what I said. I'll have a look for the drivers, thanks.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 24, 2007 8:06 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Have you installed the correct graphics driver for the (presumably onboard?) graphics from Dell? This is usually what would limit the available resolutions - my monitor is also seen as "Generic PnP" by Vista but does the full 1680x1050 with no problems.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 9:26 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
966

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
I'm not sure; I'm just going to download the drivers for the whole motherboard (if I can!).

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 9:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
marktuson wrote:
I'm not sure; I'm just going to download the drivers for the whole motherboard (if I can!).

You'll probably have to download them individually. What does Device Manager show in the Display adapters category? Does that category even exist?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 10:48 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
966

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
It just says generic.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 1:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1520

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
iF you bought the monitor retail, it should come with a driver CD. My Dell monitor has a CD with drivers on it.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 25, 2007 5:37 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
marktuson wrote:
It just says generic.

That means your graphics driver is not installed. It's displaying that under "Display Adapters", right? Then install the drivers for your mobo's onboard GPU. :)


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS