BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 8d, 8h, 15m | CPU: 35% | MEM: 2112MB of 4917MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: HAL        Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:41 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
Which files makes a call to hal when starting? I modifies some files and now hal cant load.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 10:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Erm... Could you describe "HAL won't load" a bit more precisely? Does it refuse to boot or what's happening?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
During install all goes well but when reboot I get a stop error about hal.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm

Posts
698

Location
Or-stray-liagh
Is it something like "Windows cannot load because the following file is corrupt: hal.dll"?

Either the DLL is bad (replace it *but*, expand halaacpi.dll and replace the hal.dll with that! otherwise you won't have any power management features like sleep mode, hibernation, etc) or, your boot.ini is pointing to the wrong partition.

If you do replace your HAL with one that you weren't using, Windows will redetect every single piece of your hardware, which takes a good hour or two.

_________________
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Aug 03, 2007 11:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
It's maybe unlikely that a wrong boot.ini is the problem because he said it's happening while installing, thus, a correct boot.ini should have been created by the setup.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:24 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:09 am

Posts
361

Location
China

Favourite OS
Win2000
I once had a very strange situation is that right after installing XP on 2nd partition (1st partition already in use by Win2000) and reboot, it reported "Unable to find hal486c.dll."
In other words, Setup sometimes do have trouble on non-primary partition installing.
So, an errorneous boot.ini is possible if you install on non-primary partitions.


Quote:
I modifies some files and now hal cant load.


So...Would you tell us what modification you did actually?

_________________
Image


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 3:52 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
I am back on trying to fix neptune again. Its either got to be "explorer, shell, shell32, or ntoskrnl".
I got neptune close to being fixed one time using sp4 for windows 2000, drv cab from xp sp0, and a few other misc files.
Its been so long I forget.


Top  Profile  YIM
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 5:17 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
It must be Ntoskrnl then - the kernel loads at the start of the boot-up along with the HAL, but Explorer and the shell don't load until logon - if the first three files that you mentioned are damaged, then I think Windows will still boot but Explorer and/or shell bits like the Open dialog in Task Manager won't work.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 9:37 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 09, 2006 6:43 am

Posts
721

Favourite OS
SVR 2012R2/Win10
NTOSKRNL is probably the culprit - if you read up on the NT boot process, you'll see that ntoskrnl is loaded by ntldr. ntoskrnl relies heavily on hal.dll, so if something changes (I do not know what - perhaps internal addresses of subroutines in the ntoskrnl file?) in hal.dll or ntoskrnl.exe, it may break the OS.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Aug 04, 2007 2:45 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Aug 24, 2006 12:09 am

Posts
520

Location
Glendale KY USA
Thanks guys. I am begining to think neptune is unfixable. I worked on fo a better part of a year and got some results.

I still wont give up completly though.


Top  Profile  YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS