BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 17d, 9h, 43m | CPU: 13% | MEM: 5501MB of 11616MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
How did you get that extracted?

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 5:38 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
DBlake wrote:
How did you get that extracted?


I installed Windows 7 7227 and then I installed the WAIK, Put my Win7 DVD in the drive, then I opened PE Tools Command Prompt and put in these two commands.

Code:
COPYPE.CMD x86 C:\Temp\x86_PE

OSCDIMG -bc:\temp\x86_pe\etfsboot.com -n -o c:\temp\x86_pe\iso c:\temp\x86_pe.iso


It dumps WinPE to a handy little bootable ISO that I can add stuff to and load in VirtualPC for testing.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:09 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
Nice, thanks for that.

EDIT: I found out how to inject drivers into WinPE: [LINK]

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:48 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
nookupeous wrote:
Also, later today I'll see if I can get the logon screen and winver.exe to work, that one guy's youtube page has tutorials.


If you have given access to the LAN or internet.
Mount this folder:

Code:
net use r: \\<pc>\C$

Replace:
<pc> with you're name of the PC (host) or IP.
C$ with the drive with you're current Windows 7 installation

Then go to \Windows\System32

and run WINVER.exe

(It works for the Server 2008 R2 Core installations).

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 11, 2009 6:51 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
How to boot other shells in WinPE: [LINK]

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:01 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
Hey, still on vacation but here's what I've done:

got it booting XP SP3 explorer and Win7 7227 explorer (not on the same iso)
got a selector menu to pick which shell you want to boot
got a loader that removes 24hr timebomb
winver works
logon screen works
Intergrated VMWare Ethernet Drivers and other things
Windows Photo Viewer and MMC work
GUI tool to change wallpaper
wpeinit runs silently and then loads explorer
many small tweaks

will post screens tommorrow or the next.

any other ideas on what to put in...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:27 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:45 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
pizzaboy192 wrote:
are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)


IE works if you can get your network drivers to work. Haven't tried any other browsers, games definently work, they worked on the old winpe why not here.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:54 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am

Posts
2688

Location
Earth.

Favourite OS
Real Life
nookupeous wrote:
pizzaboy192 wrote:
are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)


IE works if you can get your network drivers to work. Haven't tried any other browsers, games definently work, they worked on the old winpe why not here.

Do you think that, in order to save space, you could create a tool to slipstream the network and other drivers in when the user gets the file? I have a terribly slow connection, and every MB that I don't have to download is another MB that can go somewhere else.
The other thing is, can you install the drivers afterwords? (whereas my above question could be considered null and void)

_________________
Visit my BLOG!
Wanna play a fun browser based game that plays while you're away? Click here.


Top  Profile  WWW  YIM
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2009 3:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
pizzaboy192 wrote:
nookupeous wrote:
pizzaboy192 wrote:
are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)


IE works if you can get your network drivers to work. Haven't tried any other browsers, games definently work, they worked on the old winpe why not here.

Do you think that, in order to save space, you could create a tool to slipstream the network and other drivers in when the user gets the file? I have a terribly slow connection, and every MB that I don't have to download is another MB that can go somewhere else.
The other thing is, can you install the drivers afterwords? (whereas my above question could be considered null and void)


That'd be kinda hard, slipstreaming a whole bunch of network drivers takes up alot of space, if you download the WAIK, you can put them in yourself, I can give you the commands. I can try to get all the network drivers off a vista/xp disc and include them that'd be a little easier.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 4:10 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
how did you get the XP Explorer to work?

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:43 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
DBlake wrote:
how did you get the XP Explorer to work?


I used this tutorial, I had to modify a few things as Vista/7's PE does some different stuff with the hives.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=15709

Also, just for lol's I got WinNT 3.51's file manager as the shell in one of my ISO's.

There's only so much I can do, soon, I'm probably going to need your help with AutoIt for installing progs during the installation or moving stuff to a RAMDisk or something.

Also, this is going to sound weird, but since I want to have this be a small little OS on a "Rescue Partition" or just a low footprint OS; I've been working with using WinPE to install WinPE. How weird does that sound?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2009 3:47 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
nookupeous wrote:
DBlake wrote:
how did you get the XP Explorer to work?


I used this tutorial, I had to modify a few things as Vista/7's PE does some different stuff with the hives.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=15709

Also, just for lol's I got WinNT 3.51's file manager as the shell in one of my ISO's.

There's only so much I can do, soon, I'm probably going to need your help with AutoIt for installing progs during the installation or moving stuff to a RAMDisk or something.

Also, this is going to sound weird, but since I want to have this be a small little OS on a "Rescue Partition" or just a low footprint OS; I've been working with using WinPE to install WinPE. How weird does that sound?


Also, I may consider moving this project over to the PE from the Evaluation version of Server 2003. I can literally get 90+% of everything you'd need for a full fledged OS working on like 35MB of RAM.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
That would be useful, except...The links in the tut are dead...

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:59 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2025

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Hey, I think that having an ISO with the Windows NT 3.51 UI on a WinPE kernel (I'm guessing its NT 5.x or 6.x) Would be awesome, Can I have it? If it works?

EDIT: A full OS on 35MB of RAM, I would use it on my 2GB machine. I guess to someone on 64MB it would be like Vista. :/, Over 50% RAM usage XD

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2009 3:37 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
WildEye001 wrote:
Hey, I think that having an ISO with the Windows NT 3.51 UI on a WinPE kernel (I'm guessing its NT 5.x or 6.x) Would be awesome, Can I have it? If it works?

EDIT: A full OS on 35MB of RAM, I would use it on my 2GB machine. I guess to someone on 64MB it would be like Vista. :/, Over 50% RAM usage XD


Yeah sure, I'll make you your own little ISO and upload it. Do you want it on 2003 Eval's PE or the one from a 7 leak?

I can put .NET (maybe sound) (probably DirectX) and there won't be a timebomb on 2K3 Eval's PE.

This is the file it will boot into...I'm not sure if you get the full Desktop with winfile or if that's just the file manager, so let me know that's the wrong file.

Here's a screenshot, I think I have the most recent version.

Image

Here's what one I've been working on looks like:

Image

It uses 2K3 Eval's PE with winfile. In that screenshot I was using it to repair some stuff on my friends home server thing. These are pretty useful little "operating systems".


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 12:02 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2025

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Awesome. I want to use this so bad. maybe, I can get the old OS/2 interface running on it aswell. Since NT and OS/2 arent really all that different, why not?

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 3:15 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
WildEye001 wrote:
Awesome. I want to use this so bad. maybe, I can get the old OS/2 interface running on it aswell. Since NT and OS/2 arent really all that different, why not?


I have no experience with OS/2 actually, but I'm sure if you sent me it's equivalent of explorer (basically it's filemanager or shell) I bet I could get it working for you.

Also, if you want sound if your ISO, let me know what card you use and I'll integrate your driver and the other necessary components.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 4:35 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2407
OS/2 Apps won't work. They use a slightly different executable format.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 12:16 am 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2025

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
nookupeous: http://us.acer.com/acer-v2/service.do?L ... 2054404012

Notebook > Aspire > Aspire 5735Z

Could you please integrate:

*QMI WLAN
*Intel VGA
*Intel AHCI
*Audio
*TouchPad

:) Thanks

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 1:15 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
Unfortunately, Winfile doesn't work under WinPE 2.0 (Vista SP1)

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 4:35 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Try these directions:

http://people.ee.ethz.ch/~davidsch/vistafm/

_________________
I am here in the shadows


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Sun Jun 21, 2009 9:49 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm

Posts
743

Location
Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Favourite OS
Windows 7 M3 (6801)
Here's a method to get explorer in WinPE that was supposed to work for the old Betas of Vista and WAIK, I'm trying it right now as I'm posting this.

EDIT: The way to get explorer works...half-way. I also got WinVer working 100%.
Only problem with explorer is that there is no start button, and you can't browse files with explorer.....

EDIT2: I don't think Explorer will be a good idea...the BOOT.WIM with all the files required for it to work in it is over 400MB. let's stick with LiteStep or Blackbox or something of the nature.

_________________
My Mixer stream page


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 1:54 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:53 pm

Posts
1197

Location
Ontario

Favourite OS
anything unix-like
DBlake wrote:
Unfortunately, Winfile doesn't work under WinPE 2.0 (Vista SP1)

Why not use WineFile, it works under WinPE2, I've done it myself.

Also, for those who didn't know, win16 apps don't work in winPE


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE        Posted: Mon Jun 29, 2009 11:04 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm

Posts
327

Location
USA

Favourite OS
Windows 2000 SP4
Thanks for that link for WinFile on vista!

I've been using vistape.net's method of getting explorer working.

@DBlake
Which method are you using for explorer?


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS