Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

How did you get that extracted?

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

DBlake wrote:How did you get that extracted?
I installed Windows 7 7227 and then I installed the WAIK, Put my Win7 DVD in the drive, then I opened PE Tools Command Prompt and put in these two commands.

Code: Select all

COPYPE.CMD x86 C:\Temp\x86_PE

OSCDIMG -bc:\temp\x86_pe\etfsboot.com -n -o c:\temp\x86_pe\iso c:\temp\x86_pe.iso
It dumps WinPE to a handy little bootable ISO that I can add stuff to and load in VirtualPC for testing.

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

Nice, thanks for that.

EDIT: I found out how to inject drivers into WinPE: [LINK]

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by Rob Jansen »

nookupeous wrote:Also, later today I'll see if I can get the logon screen and winver.exe to work, that one guy's youtube page has tutorials.
If you have given access to the LAN or internet.
Mount this folder:

Code: Select all

net use r: \\<pc>\C$
Replace:
<pc> with you're name of the PC (host) or IP.
C$ with the drive with you're current Windows 7 installation

Then go to \Windows\System32

and run WINVER.exe

(It works for the Server 2008 R2 Core installations).

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

How to boot other shells in WinPE: [LINK]

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

Hey, still on vacation but here's what I've done:

got it booting XP SP3 explorer and Win7 7227 explorer (not on the same iso)
got a selector menu to pick which shell you want to boot
got a loader that removes 24hr timebomb
winver works
logon screen works
Intergrated VMWare Ethernet Drivers and other things
Windows Photo Viewer and MMC work
GUI tool to change wallpaper
wpeinit runs silently and then loads explorer
many small tweaks

will post screens tommorrow or the next.

any other ideas on what to put in...

pizzaboy192
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am
Location: Earth.
Contact:

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by pizzaboy192 »

are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

pizzaboy192 wrote:are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)
IE works if you can get your network drivers to work. Haven't tried any other browsers, games definently work, they worked on the old winpe why not here.

pizzaboy192
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2688
Joined: Thu Oct 23, 2008 3:25 am
Location: Earth.
Contact:

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by pizzaboy192 »

nookupeous wrote:
pizzaboy192 wrote:are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)
IE works if you can get your network drivers to work. Haven't tried any other browsers, games definently work, they worked on the old winpe why not here.
Do you think that, in order to save space, you could create a tool to slipstream the network and other drivers in when the user gets the file? I have a terribly slow connection, and every MB that I don't have to download is another MB that can go somewhere else.
The other thing is, can you install the drivers afterwords? (whereas my above question could be considered null and void)

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

pizzaboy192 wrote:
nookupeous wrote:
pizzaboy192 wrote:are you able to get a browser to work?
Tried any games? (Even on VMWare?)
IE works if you can get your network drivers to work. Haven't tried any other browsers, games definently work, they worked on the old winpe why not here.
Do you think that, in order to save space, you could create a tool to slipstream the network and other drivers in when the user gets the file? I have a terribly slow connection, and every MB that I don't have to download is another MB that can go somewhere else.
The other thing is, can you install the drivers afterwords? (whereas my above question could be considered null and void)
That'd be kinda hard, slipstreaming a whole bunch of network drivers takes up alot of space, if you download the WAIK, you can put them in yourself, I can give you the commands. I can try to get all the network drivers off a vista/xp disc and include them that'd be a little easier.

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

how did you get the XP Explorer to work?

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

DBlake wrote:how did you get the XP Explorer to work?
I used this tutorial, I had to modify a few things as Vista/7's PE does some different stuff with the hives.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=15709

Also, just for lol's I got WinNT 3.51's file manager as the shell in one of my ISO's.

There's only so much I can do, soon, I'm probably going to need your help with AutoIt for installing progs during the installation or moving stuff to a RAMDisk or something.

Also, this is going to sound weird, but since I want to have this be a small little OS on a "Rescue Partition" or just a low footprint OS; I've been working with using WinPE to install WinPE. How weird does that sound?

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

nookupeous wrote:
DBlake wrote:how did you get the XP Explorer to work?
I used this tutorial, I had to modify a few things as Vista/7's PE does some different stuff with the hives.

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=15709

Also, just for lol's I got WinNT 3.51's file manager as the shell in one of my ISO's.

There's only so much I can do, soon, I'm probably going to need your help with AutoIt for installing progs during the installation or moving stuff to a RAMDisk or something.

Also, this is going to sound weird, but since I want to have this be a small little OS on a "Rescue Partition" or just a low footprint OS; I've been working with using WinPE to install WinPE. How weird does that sound?
Also, I may consider moving this project over to the PE from the Evaluation version of Server 2003. I can literally get 90+% of everything you'd need for a full fledged OS working on like 35MB of RAM.

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

That would be useful, except...The links in the tut are dead...

James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by James »

Hey, I think that having an ISO with the Windows NT 3.51 UI on a WinPE kernel (I'm guessing its NT 5.x or 6.x) Would be awesome, Can I have it? If it works?

EDIT: A full OS on 35MB of RAM, I would use it on my 2GB machine. I guess to someone on 64MB it would be like Vista. :/, Over 50% RAM usage XD
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

WildEye001 wrote:Hey, I think that having an ISO with the Windows NT 3.51 UI on a WinPE kernel (I'm guessing its NT 5.x or 6.x) Would be awesome, Can I have it? If it works?

EDIT: A full OS on 35MB of RAM, I would use it on my 2GB machine. I guess to someone on 64MB it would be like Vista. :/, Over 50% RAM usage XD
Yeah sure, I'll make you your own little ISO and upload it. Do you want it on 2003 Eval's PE or the one from a 7 leak?

I can put .NET (maybe sound) (probably DirectX) and there won't be a timebomb on 2K3 Eval's PE.

This is the file it will boot into...I'm not sure if you get the full Desktop with winfile or if that's just the file manager, so let me know that's the wrong file.

Here's a screenshot, I think I have the most recent version.

Image

Here's what one I've been working on looks like:

Image

It uses 2K3 Eval's PE with winfile. In that screenshot I was using it to repair some stuff on my friends home server thing. These are pretty useful little "operating systems".

James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by James »

Awesome. I want to use this so bad. maybe, I can get the old OS/2 interface running on it aswell. Since NT and OS/2 arent really all that different, why not?
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

WildEye001 wrote:Awesome. I want to use this so bad. maybe, I can get the old OS/2 interface running on it aswell. Since NT and OS/2 arent really all that different, why not?
I have no experience with OS/2 actually, but I'm sure if you sent me it's equivalent of explorer (basically it's filemanager or shell) I bet I could get it working for you.

Also, if you want sound if your ISO, let me know what card you use and I'll integrate your driver and the other necessary components.

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by Kenneth »

OS/2 Apps won't work. They use a slightly different executable format.

James
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2029
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: United States

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by James »

nookupeous: http://us.acer.com/acer-v2/service.do?L ... 2054404012

Notebook > Aspire > Aspire 5735Z

Could you please integrate:

*QMI WLAN
*Intel VGA
*Intel AHCI
*Audio
*TouchPad

Thanks
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

Unfortunately, Winfile doesn't work under WinPE 2.0 (Vista SP1)

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by TheWahbinator »

I am here in the shadows

DBlake
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 747
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 8:45 pm
Location: Two lefts and a diagonal sidestep from where you are.

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by DBlake »

Here's a method to get explorer in WinPE that was supposed to work for the old Betas of Vista and WAIK, I'm trying it right now as I'm posting this.

EDIT: The way to get explorer works...half-way. I also got WinVer working 100%.
Only problem with explorer is that there is no start button, and you can't browse files with explorer.....

EDIT2: I don't think Explorer will be a good idea...the BOOT.WIM with all the files required for it to work in it is over 400MB. let's stick with LiteStep or Blackbox or something of the nature.

Marcello
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1197
Joined: Thu Mar 12, 2009 9:53 pm
Location: Ontario
Contact:

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by Marcello »

DBlake wrote:Unfortunately, Winfile doesn't work under WinPE 2.0 (Vista SP1)
Why not use WineFile, it works under WinPE2, I've done it myself.

Also, for those who didn't know, win16 apps don't work in winPE

nookupeous
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 327
Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:26 pm
Location: USA

Re: Low Resource/Low Footprint OS using WinPE

Post by nookupeous »

Thanks for that link for WinFile on vista!

I've been using vistape.net's method of getting explorer working.

@DBlake
Which method are you using for explorer?

Post Reply