BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 28d, 18h, 21m | CPU: 33% | MEM: 5780MB of 10790MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:29 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:05 pm

Posts
290
Trying to find a way to remove the silly, forced 80GB hdd requirement from Home Server so I can try it out without having to waste a perfectly good hard drive by repartitioning it. nLite will remove one limit BUT then installs it purely as 2K3 SBS. vLite won't recognise the files at all (because HS is a silly mixture of .wim and regular 2K3 SBS files)... anyone done this?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2008 10:38 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Tue Oct 17, 2006 8:26 pm

Posts
932
Why not use vLite on a vista image and diff for the changes made by vLite?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun May 31, 2009 10:35 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:05 pm

Posts
290
I came back to this silly project today and the thing is, there is nothing on vLite regarding a HDD install size limit in Vista/2K8, so nothing to compare to. Home Server is so strange as a mix of the files that I just can't figure out where to look to solve this one.

The only thing I can see is that if you run nLite, it removes the hdd size requirement limit, but then only installs the OS as 2K3 SBS. If anyone has looked into this please do post up some advice.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun May 31, 2009 11:20 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Posts
2393
Have you tried setup.exe /nosyscheck? This bypasses all of the hardware checks on Vista/2008 and might work as WHS uses Vista/2008's installer to begin with, before reverting to the 2003 one after the first reboot.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 8:20 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I don't think that is going to work.

Home Server boots from the DVD and starts the setup right after boot, you can't use any F10 key to bring up the command prompt.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 1:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Posts
2406
I tried using F10 but it only brings up a log window.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Mon Jun 01, 2009 2:38 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:05 pm

Posts
290
Remarkable how such a small thing as removing the HDD size requirement is actually turning out to be so hard.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Fri Jun 12, 2009 9:45 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
Install it in VMWare, create an 80GB HDD image. It'll only use the amount of space on your real HDD that the VMware image uses.

It works


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 10:20 pm 
Reply with quote
Staff
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 11, 2007 9:13 pm

Posts
2001

Location
United States

Favourite OS
MacOS 9.2.2
Happy Dude's way is perfect, but if you want to, go load up a disk splitter (GParted?), and cut 80GB out of the hard disk, and just use it as a secondary partition, no formatting required.

I have a Windows Home Server trial DVD somewhere, I might mess with it sometime. Thanks for reminding me I had those disks. :)

_________________
James *~*~* BA Moderator | Alternate History writer


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 11:54 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
If you don't have 80GB free...then VMWare really is your only method,


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 12:02 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Posts
550
Shift-F10 is the key combination you're looking for.

_________________
I am here in the shadows


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:52 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:29 am

Posts
2292

Favourite OS
Maemo 5 PR1.3
happy dude wrote:
Install it in VMWare, create an 80GB HDD image. It'll only use the amount of space on your real HDD that the VMware image uses.

It works

Yeah, I can confirm this, it works. I used it when I ran a pir... legally bought OEM copy of WHS. BTW, when you do this in VMware, use a expanding disk (not doing so makes doing this defeats the purpose).

Is it possible for you to test if you can install on VMware, not activate it yet, then GHOST it, then transfer it to the HDD?

_________________
Program run condition: collect keys. Deadline: 2 days.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 4:07 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 01, 2008 7:05 pm

Posts
290
Somehow the idea of using a VM and ghosting/restoring has never really come to me before. Might just have to try it out later with the trial DVD set. I'm still curious about where the actual 80GB check resides in the installer but eh, whatever works will do.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2009 11:24 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:29 am

Posts
2292

Favourite OS
Maemo 5 PR1.3
I just came up with another idea: Install WHS normally, then shrink the disk, then let's see if it complains about having <80GB

_________________
Program run condition: collect keys. Deadline: 2 days.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Remove the HDD install size requirement from Home Server?        Posted: Mon Aug 03, 2009 8:35 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
PortalCake wrote:
I just came up with another idea: Install WHS normally, then shrink the disk, then let's see if it complains about having <80GB


You canĀ“t shrink the disk.
Only the partition, the disk is still >80gb.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS