BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 1d, 13h, 4m | CPU: 16% | MEM: 4198MB of 10299MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

PostPost subject: Custom Windows 2K/XP/Vista Where to Start & What I need        Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 6:36 am 
FTP Access

Favourite OS
Debian GNU/Linux 7.0
Hey I'm a noob to the world of custom operating systems, where do I start and what do I need

I would like to

Remove Internet Explorer, Messenger, Media Player
Bundle Firefox with it
Edit the about Windows box
Make It fast
Give it a custom startup screen

I have my ISOs but what programs do I need and how much of the stuff I listed would I be able to do.

Thanks, Mewrox99 :)

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 7:24 am 

nlite

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 8:27 am 
Permanently Banned

or download the millions of other OSes that are built like that and nobody ever uses.

before anyone else asks yeah there not all like that but the majority of them are. troy did a good job on AB and it's good when you take in account resources it uses and hd space etc but really if you just want to remove IE and Media player and crap like that just build an unattended iso which will remove what features you dont want and will install what you do want automatically after install.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 10:54 am 
Donator

Superbird wrote:
nlite

Using Vlite or Nlite does not count as modifying an OS, anyone can do that.
To customise an OS, you'll need to familiarise yourself with WIM imaging.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2008 2:54 pm 
FTP Access

Zimmy wrote:
or download the millions of other OSes that are built like that and nobody ever uses.