New Windows XP Logon (W2K8 style)

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
marxo
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:56 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

New Windows XP Logon (W2K8 style)

Post by marxo »

Hello guys!
I made a Windows XP Logon based on Windows 2008 Server Logon Screen.

Windows Fundamentals for Legacy PCs Version is available.
Windows XP Version is available.
Windows Vista Version is available.

(These versions are all for Windows XP, it's the bmp in the bottom that is changed. Windows XP Version has the bitmap saying "Windows XP" as on the picture, and so on...)

Image
Image
Download:

Windows XP Logon @ Windows Projects Community
May our software be open-source, and our women closed-source.

4tified
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 725
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 4:16 am
Location: TeXaS

Post by 4tified »

That looks awesome. I prefer this one WAY over the default one Vista has.

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

Thanks I'll try it out.
Image

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

Works good on XP Pro
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

Whenever i replace the file in c:\windows\system32, windows automatically replaces it with the logoui.exe. I realise I'm probably making a nooby mistake, any help?

Thanks
Image

Bender
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1524
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Post by Bender »

Replace it, then press the reset button on your computer

Don't shutdown normally. That worked for me.
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

Hmm im on a laptop, shall I just restart in windows
Edit - Nope that didnt work
Image

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Did anyone border to try the SAFE MODE of Windows, before GUI boot press F8.

Then the file protection is disabled and you can replace anyfile (as long as its valid).

Daniel
User avatar
Staff
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Or just replace the file in system32\dllcache first, then in system32.
After this you should get a system file protection message, click on cancel,
and make sure that there is no Windows XP cd-rom in your drive

Vista Ultimate R2
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 2393
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Post by Vista Ultimate R2 »

Yes, check that the file is not in dllcache and/or Windows\ServicePackFiles\i386 and/or C:\i386 first, then replace the actual file.
Image

nickenzi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Monson, MA

Post by nickenzi »

or you can use bartpe to replace the file as long as the drive is accessible by everyone (for those who dont care/dislike ntfs security)
............................[url=gopher://nickmaslon.com]Visit my gopher site![/url]
Image

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

Daniel wrote:Or just replace the file in system32\dllcache first, then in system32.
After this you should get a system file protection message, click on cancel,
and make sure that there is no Windows XP cd-rom in your drive
Thanks that worked.

I love this logon, much better than standard XP. Shame it doesnt use your actual user picture though.

EDIT - Now that Ive restarted windows its changed back again.
Image

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Don't replace the Logonui.exe in your Windows\System32 folder. Just copy the EXE to the folder with a different name, then go into the registry, go to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon and change the UIHost value to the name of the EXE. Changes take effect immediately.

BTW: It looks nice.
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

KCLiVES
Donator
Posts: 228
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 6:56 pm
Location: North England.

Post by KCLiVES »

It's ok I did it safe-mode and it all works now.

Damn I feel nooby.
Image

Beta_Vistaglass
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 74
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:06 pm
Location: St.Petersburg, Russia
Contact:

Post by Beta_Vistaglass »

Very interesting thing! Thank you!

asiekierka
FTP Access
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:09 pm

Post by asiekierka »

Hey, it looks cool!
marxo, I don't really like your ideas all the time, but this logon rocked on Vista, and I think it'll rock just as much on XP, maybe even more!

Thanks in advance! Will test this awesome thingie later.

Turanus

Post by Turanus »

Cool.Thank's a lot.I think it's the one of most pleasure logons as i know.

Witt3439

Post by Witt3439 »

I use that same log in on my XP system, and I must say that it does look very good.

betaluva
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 2068
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2007 12:21 am
Location: Australia

Post by betaluva »

[quote="pr0gram the pr0grammer"]Don't replace the Logonui.exe in your Windows\System32 folder. Just copy the EXE to the folder with a different name, then go into the registry, go to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon and change the UIHost value to the name of the EXE. Changes take effect immediately.

would this work with logonui from longhorn 3683 cause i LOVE the clock feature? Image

thenico
FTP Access
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2007 8:13 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Post by thenico »

betaluva wrote:
pr0gram the pr0grammer wrote:Don't replace the Logonui.exe in your Windows\System32 folder. Just copy the EXE to the folder with a different name, then go into the registry, go to HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon and change the UIHost value to the name of the EXE. Changes take effect immediately.
would this work with logonui from longhorn 3683 cause i LOVE the clock feature? Image
Try it.
If your logonui.exe is corrupted, Windows will use the classic & old login.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

It doesn't work. I tried a number of logonui's from Longhorn on XP

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

Maybe port the code thats in the .exe to the loginui from XP and not the .exe it self?

(may sound stupid, but then you can get the clock, i think), its a neat feature.

Ensign Joe
FTP Access
Posts: 175
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 6:22 pm
Location: Germany

Post by Ensign Joe »

If this Longhorn build is already using those MUI-files, try adding all the MUI-Strings (Dialogs, String Table, Message Table) to the EXE using Resource Hacker or try copying the MUI file in the system32 folder or the same folder structure (mui\fallback\......)

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

As far as I remember, Longhorn never had a logonui.exe.mui

And many of the features are implemented using calls from system files that don't exist in XP iirc.

marxo
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2007 3:56 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by marxo »

Hey guys, do you want this logon with Windows 7 image?
May our software be open-source, and our women closed-source.

Post Reply