Windows DarkLite 2008 with SP3?

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
Post Reply
nickenzi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Monson, MA

Windows DarkLite 2008 with SP3?

Post by nickenzi »

Hi, I downloaded a version of Windows DarkLite from here:
http://www.windowz.ru/index.php?newsid=1150275967
I was wondering if there is a version with SP3 integrated.
Any help?
Thanks!
............................[url=gopher://nickmaslon.com]Visit my gopher site![/url]
Image

happy dude
Donator
Posts: 2461
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Post by happy dude »

The rules state no warez...
Just install SP3.

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Why not just (illegally) download it, then slipstream SP3 yourself? Something like xpsp3.exe /integrate:C:\XP ?
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Wouldn't that mean that it wouldn't look like it does any more, since the reshacked files would be replaced with standard copies =\

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

I agree, this warez.

EDIT:
As as hounsell said, when installing this SP, all files are replaced with Standard copy's of SP3.
And the CD doenst work anymore/its just standard windows.

MANUAL INTEGRATING SP:

1)
Extract ALL files from the CD to 1 folder
Example:
C:\CD
--> i386
--> setup.exe

2)
Extract the bootsector of the disc with Magiciso or anyother program that can extract bootsector's

3)
Download SP3

4)
(THE NEXT STEPS REQUIRES FOLDERS WITHOUT SPACES!!)
Extract SP via this code or with winrar to folder SP

Code: Select all

c:\SP3.exe /u/x:c:\SP
5)
Integrating files into your install folder:
C:\SP\i386\update\update.exe /s:C:\CD
Now watch until it is completed.
Probaly the bar is full before process is completed.
The program will give a warning when its completed.

6)
Create new CD Image.
Copy all files from the CD folder to there.
(not the folder itself but all files/folder in it)

7)
Put the bootsector back in.

8)
Save it and burn if you want.
But test it in VPC/VMWare before you burn it, to save you a CD when it doesnt work.

9)
Delete the following folders and files from C:\ or location where you did this.
Example at c:\
Delete:
--> SP3.exe (300MB)
--> CD (folder and all of in it) (500MB)
--> SP (folder and all of in it) (300MB)
So that saves you 1GB or more (or less)
Last edited by Rob Jansen on Mon May 05, 2008 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

It is warez, but as I pointed out, you can't just integrate the SP3, as that would lose all the reshacked files.

Rob Jansen
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 5271
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm
Location: The Collection Book
Contact:

Post by Rob Jansen »

I was editing my post.

Maybe a mod/admin should close this, because this is warez.

nickenzi
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 524
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Monson, MA

Post by nickenzi »

I didn't think it was warez, as it is someone's modded version of windows, but if it is, I am sorry I brought it up. I wasn't meaning to cause trouble.
............................[url=gopher://nickmaslon.com]Visit my gopher site![/url]
Image

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

nickenzi wrote:I didn't think it was warez, as it is someone's modded version of windows, but if it is, I am sorry I brought it up. I wasn't meaning to cause trouble.
The base of a modded Windows XP is a unmodded XP (I thought so, lol), so its warez

Post Reply