Emulating VSE/ESA

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
Post Reply
640kb
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:32 pm

Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by 640kb »

I managed to find a CD that has the VSE images for a P/390. I do not a have a working P/390, but I do have experience with Hercules. I translated the DEVMAP.NME file into a Hercules config file and tried to IPL, but nothing happened. Where can I find some information on starting VSE/ESA?

warezit2000
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by warezit2000 »

I managed to IPL a similar system (or possibly the same, if it's the ISO from archive.org) with:

Code: Select all

ipl 150
and this config:

Code: Select all

CPUSERIAL 000111
CPUMODEL  2064
MAINSIZE  256
CNSLPORT  3270
NUMCPU    1
NUMVEC    1
ARCHMODE  ESA/390
OSTAILOR  VSE
PGMPRDOS  LICENSED

001F    3270
0200    3270
0201    3270
0202    3270
0203    3270
0204    3270
0205    3270
0206    3270

0150    3390    DOSRES.cckd sf=shadow/DOSRES_*.shadow
0151    3390    SYSWK1.cckd sf=shadow/SYSWK1_*.shadow
This is what I get on the 3270:
Image

Unfortunately I'm not at all familiar with VSE, so I'm not sure where to go from here :-)

640kb
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by 640kb »

Thanks for the input, I will try your config.

640kb
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by 640kb »

The readme file on the disc gave me some idea of how to boot everything up. The "Messages during VSE IPL" section goes over everything, and it says to enter "0 DELETE" to fix the "overlap on unexpired file" message. After that, the VTAM logon screen will appear. Also, the 2.4.0 ADCD images do not have TCP/IP.

640kb
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by 640kb »

Here is a link to the default logons:
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... _uids.html

warezit2000
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by warezit2000 »

Thanks! I was able to get it working as well in the end using the "0 DELETE" trick. I also found the proper way to shutdown the system is to issue "Z NET" in the system console:
https://www.ibm.com/support/knowledgece ... _zvse.html

warezit2000
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Mar 23, 2019 11:05 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by warezit2000 »

Also, VSEUTILS.IPL contains some standalone utilities that can be run by adding it to the config

Code: Select all

0500    3422    VSEUTILS.het
and issuing

Code: Select all

ipl 500
I converted it to HET to save space but the original is in AWS format and should work directly as well.

Image

640kb
FTP Access
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 11:32 pm

Re: Emulating VSE/ESA

Post by 640kb »

Thanks, I'll check it out too.

Post Reply