How can I replace the Windows Logo...

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
Post Reply
Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

How can I replace the Windows Logo...

Post by Daniel »

... on this screenshot?

This is the screen which appears directly after the windows setup.
Which file(s) I have to edit to change it?

Image

Thanks in advance, D.Konieczny

Kenneth
Donator
Posts: 2407
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:42 am

Post by Kenneth »

This may be it, msobmain.dll

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

No, this can't be the right file, it only contains those two bitmaps:

Image

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

it's inside the ntoskrnl.exe
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

No
I already changed the NTOSKRNL -> the bootscreen changes, but not this screen.

TheWahbinator
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 550
Joined: Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:45 pm

Post by TheWahbinator »

You have the pre-SP1 version which includes banners for each edition.

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

And again no. It's the SP2 Version (5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)).

Has anyone else a idea which file it is?

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Just a guess, but have you looked at the files in %systemroot%/system32/oobe? Seeing this is the OOBE phase, maybe you'll have more luck in that directory.

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

empireum wrote:Just a guess, but have you looked at the files in %systemroot%/system32/oobe? Seeing this is the OOBE phase, maybe you'll have more luck in that directory.
Yes, already checked this files.
BTW : The msobmain.dll is from the OOBE folder

pr0gram the pr0grammer
Donator
Posts: 698
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:05 pm
Location: Or-stray-liagh

Post by pr0gram the pr0grammer »

Damn, I've seen this before, but now I can't find it, and it's really frustrating. I'll keep looking..
pr0gram the pr0grammer
BetaArchive retiree | OSBA Expat

os2fan2
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1291
Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 8:12 am
Location: Brisbane, Queensland
Contact:

Post by os2fan2 »

Try Winnt32.bmp. It looks like that.

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

I only can find winnt.bmp, winnt256.bmp and wind32pro.bmp.
But they all are looking like this:

Image

Luckie
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 8:03 am
Location: Germany

Post by Luckie »

try winbrand.dll
"Theory is when you know something, but it doesn't work. Practice is when something works, but you don't know why. Programmers combine theory and practice: Nothing works and they don't know why."

Daniel
User avatar
Posts: 2607
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:11 pm
Location: Germany, Earth
Contact:

Post by Daniel »

Luckie wrote:try winbrand.dll
Yay, that works!

Post Reply