Windows w/out Explorer, just CMD

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
Post Reply
Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Windows w/out Explorer, just CMD

Post by Tootles »

Can the Explorer shell be removed entirely from the newer versions of Windows, and be replaced with a windowed Command Prompt?

I'm thinking of setting up a WinFLP system (multiboot w/ Ubuntu when I can get it to work on my laptop), just to run programs, and I can't be bothered with the full shell.

Thanks.
Have a day.

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

You can of course define cmd.exe to be your shell (somewhere in the registry, I can't remember the key now), but you'll still have the full Explorer present (albeit not running) on your system. I don't know if it is possible to completely remove it from the HD.

Another approach would be building an XP Embedded image that does not include the Explorer shell at all, so the system will only have cmd.exe as the shell. But then, I don't know about applications on XP Embedded, and building the right image that works with everything you need can be a lengthy process.

What I'd do if I were you is either setting up a minimal (IE-less) Windows FLP or nLited XP and then replace the shell as shown in the 1st paragraph.

intellivision
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 8:40 am

Post by intellivision »

minwin doesnt have explorer, but then again, minwin doesnt have anything.
Time can never catch up with me, Zeno proved it.

Jeff
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 1004
Joined: Mon Sep 04, 2006 1:06 pm
Location: USA

Post by Jeff »

Even if you disabled explorer, you may not want to remove it completely. Especially if you want an easy way to troubleshoot something (although, you may be better in dos than me... )
-Jeff

Peteski
User avatar
FTP Access
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Jun 08, 2007 1:49 pm
Location: Halifax, UK
Contact:

Post by Peteski »

empireum wrote:You can of course define cmd.exe to be your shell (somewhere in the registry, I can't remember the key now)
HKLM,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Winlogon","Shell"

Raiker
FTP Access
Posts: 419
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2007 11:18 pm
Contact:

Post by Raiker »

Isn`t Server Core the best decision for cmd shell for now?
Quod licet Jovi, non licet bovi

empireum
Donator
Posts: 3557
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Post by empireum »

Raiker wrote:Isn`t Server Core the best decision for cmd shell for now?
It's in beta stage as of now and probably still heavier on RAM and HD space usage than a light-weight XP install.

asiekierka
FTP Access
Posts: 184
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 5:09 pm

Post by asiekierka »

What about microwinX? Don't you think it'll be great for this? I have a copy. I could send it to you. And maybe put on a server or something...

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

Thanks
Have a day.

Tootles
User avatar
Donator
Posts: 984
Joined: Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Post by Tootles »

I've got it! I'm going to replace the Vista shell with Calmira!
Have a day.

Post Reply