BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Database Screenshots Gallery Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 74d, 17h, 51m | CPU: 40% | MEM: 6437MB of 12287MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Sun Mar 30, 2014 10:07 pm 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Feb 12, 2008 5:28 pm

Posts
7825
I've been trying to bootup the BeOS 3.1 release we got on the FTP. For some reason it consists of two ISOs, first being a track with a special version of PQMagic for Windows-based install, second being the actual BeOS installer volume. I've been trying to combine these two into a multisession disc/image without any success, and booting from the bootfloppy image and mounting only the second image has failed as the installer can't detect the image. It can be due to the installer not supporting the IDE/SCSI controllers in the VMs I've tried, or because of the bad disc layout (it being originally two tracks and not one).

Has anyone had any success at least booting this in a VM? Does anyone knows how to properly integrate these two ISOs into a single disc image (cue/bin etc) and make it work? I want a working solution for BA so more people can test this without having the same issue I got now.

_________________
Image
Official guidelines: The Definitive Guide to BetaArchive :: Abandonware
Tools: Alcohol120% (Portable) :: DiscImageCreator
Listings: BetaArchive Database (beta)
Channels: Discord :: Twitter


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Mon Mar 31, 2014 8:44 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:22 pm

Posts
159

Location
Germany

Favourite OS
Mac OS 10.3
I only know this: Without Windows, you don't need the Windows installer. It's for easiness and repartitioning only. Booting from the floppy and then mounting the CD would be the correct way.

And I had the same error with original 4.5 on a real PowerMac. Short: It's possible that the image is incorrectly made, but even a original can produce that error.

_________________
Please don't forget to be respectful to each other.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Tue Apr 01, 2014 4:23 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:59 pm

Posts
1005

Favourite OS
6.0.4083
I booted BeOS 3.1 in VMware Player 5, but I got stuck at the installer. It just didn't detect my hard disk. :(

_________________
Linux/BSD Distribution Betas
Enabling Aero in Windows Vista 50xx+ (VMware)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 8:49 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:15 am

Posts
641

Favourite OS
Windows NT 3.51 build 1057
Courage wrote:
I booted BeOS 3.1 in VMware Player 5, but I got stuck at the installer. It just didn't detect my hard disk. :(

My VMPlayer 5.0.2 don't even boot BeOS for me. :(
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 9:10 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:15 am

Posts
641

Favourite OS
Windows NT 3.51 build 1057
but of course the burnt disc from hand-made cuesheet works in real PC.
Code:
FILE "Track01.iso" BINARY
TRACK 01 MODE1/2048
INDEX 01 00:00:00
FILE "Track02.iso" BINARY
TRACK 02 MODE1/2048
INDEX 01 00:00:00

Image

but the installed volume seems to be unbootable unless I select Safe mode VGA :?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 10:39 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:15 am

Posts
641

Favourite OS
Windows NT 3.51 build 1057
alright get it installing.
- daemon tools is needed for mounting cuesheet.
- system less than 128MB won't boot.
- partitioning harddisk first from DOS before boot BeOS bootdisk.
- press spacebar when boot, selecting Safe mode VGA.
- release floppy once it change to graphics mode.

Image
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Fri Apr 04, 2014 4:33 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:15 am

Posts
641

Favourite OS
Windows NT 3.51 build 1057
and installed harddisk image can be converted to bochs format for using in bochs (with ne2000 network support)
bochs will panic about hdd and ne2k, just continue and ignore will be OK.

BTW the Metrowerks CodeWarrior linker is limited to 64K output size, which makes it become almost useless.
Code:
### /boot/apps/Metrowerks/tools/mwldx86 Linker Error:
# output code size exceeds 64K limit;
# please contact sales@metrowerks.com for info on unlimited linker
# errors caused tool to abort


I cracked mwldx86 by changing 1 jmp instruction:
Code:
Comparing files mwldx86.orignal and mwldx86
000057BE: 72 EB


so it links like unlimited linker does. ;)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject: Re: Booting BeOS 3.1 in a VM        Posted: Sat Apr 05, 2014 1:54 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Thu Oct 18, 2012 1:59 pm

Posts
1005

Favourite OS
6.0.4083
Whoa, thanks for the tips! I'm going to install it later.

_________________
Linux/BSD Distribution Betas
Enabling Aero in Windows Vista 50xx+ (VMware)


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2019

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS