BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 25d, 16h, 32m | CPU: 32% | MEM: 5627MB of 10798MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: Linux for Virtual PC        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:51 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
I'm still looking for some hardware to install Linux on, but until then, is there a version that'll work on VirtualPC?

I've tried Slack 8, doesn't work; Redhat, it's cack; Gentoo, doesn't like my hard disk; DSL, won't boot.

So far, I've got Redhat 6.1, but I can't install software on it... my main desktop machine is a P3(450MHz) w/ 128MB RAM, a 20GB HD, and Windows Fundamentals with VPC 2004. Is there a version I can get that'll work on it?

It's an ISO of something like Slack (or something like that) that I'm after... can such a thing be found?

Thanks.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:40 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
VirtualPC doesnt support the linux kernel very well.

If you want linux in a VPC, use VMWare.
They support it.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 8:46 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
DjRob wrote:
VirtualPC doesnt support the linux kernel very well.

If you want linux in a VPC, use VMWare.
They support it.

It might not support Linux as well as VMware, but that doesn't mean it won't work. I remember I've installed Mandrake 9.2 in VPC long ago, can't think of any other distros I might have tried though. Solaris 8 worked as well (not a Linux, but anyway). Otherwise, I agree, VMware is the better choice. Or try the free innotek VirtualBox, it supports newer distros quite well (openSUSE 10.3 works, as well as Gentoo).


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:39 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
I remember installing Red Hat 9 in Virtual PC 5 (before Microsoft bought it) years ago. It ran perfectly. Microsoft probably messed it up later.

Also, QEMU is great for running Linux.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:27 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Sat May 12, 2007 1:05 pm

Posts
5271

Location
The Collection Book

Favourite OS
Windows & Phone
I said that the kernel versions weren supported.
And that VPC cant use the 24-bit colour.

If you still want to try some linux in VPC, use Ubuntu with the Safeboot (or something like that) and the mouse doesnt work you must set the numblock on the keyboard as mouse.

_________________
Image
http://www.thecollectionbook.info
Subscribe to our Image for updates and like us on Image.

Reading Mode only, PM's possible.


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:38 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Feb 24, 2007 4:14 pm

Posts
6612

Location
United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Server 2012 R2
Actually, I have found most modern linux distributions work in Virtual PC, with a small amount of tweaking to disable the 24-bit colour.

Use the information available on http://vpc.visualwin.com/ to get your linux distros working in Virtual PC.

_________________
BuildFeed - the ultimate collaborative NT build list - Windows Longhorn - a look at a defining Microsoft project


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:48 am 
Reply with quote
Administrator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 11:47 am

Posts
12473

Location
Merseyside, United Kingdom

Favourite OS
Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate x64
From my experience VMWare is 4x faster than VPC.

_________________
Image

BetaArchive Discord: https://discord.gg/epK3r6A


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:31 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
I don't think any GUI-based OS is even going to be useable on an emulated 450mhz P3.

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:16 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Aug 19, 2006 1:25 am

Posts
590

Location
Israel
Fireware wrote:
I don't think any GUI-based OS is even going to be useable on an emulated 450mhz P3.

MenuetOS comes to mind. Then you have classic Mac OS (I've run Mac OS 8.1 using Fusion PC on a 100 MHz Pentium-1, it was more responsive than Windows 98 running natively). Windows 3.x, pre-Warp OS/2, etc.

I bet an optimized modern Gentoo installation with a light window manager (e.g. Blackbox) will be snappy, too.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:49 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
VMware isn't free, though, is it?

I had the player, but it didn't seem to be any good - it kept freezing, and there didn't seem to be a way I could toggle between host and guest.

I didn't like it :^) .

I've had RedHat 7 working really well in VPC 5, but all I can find now is 4, so I might install that on my laptop as well...
Can I run VPC 4 on the same machine as I do 2007?

Thanks.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 9:31 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
Fireware wrote:
I don't think any GUI-based OS is even going to be useable on an emulated 450mhz P3.

The CPU speed might not be the biggest problem, the fact he has only 128MB of RAM might be it. I've run XP in VMware on a 400MHz box, it wasn't fast, but still usable. Anyway, as ppc_digger said, a lightweight Linux install, Windows NT, OS/2 Warp 3, should all run on such a config, albeit not blazingly fast.

marktuson wrote:
VMware isn't free, though, is it?

VMware Server is, but check the RAM requirement. 128MB is really tight.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 3:41 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri May 18, 2007 9:39 am

Posts
953

Location
My house
marktuson wrote:
DSL, won't boot.

If by DSL you mean Damn Small Linux then it does boot and I've booted it many times without any fail.

_________________
Image


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 09, 2007 9:33 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Tue Aug 29, 2006 1:14 pm

Posts
112

Location
Westbalkanian Computing Industry Wastelands
Just one word: VirtualBox 1.5.2
It won't run old linuxes (for example Redhat 6.1 panic'ed), but works fine with everything with kernel 2.4 and up.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:12 am 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Fri Oct 26, 2007 5:12 pm

Posts
2461
I guess this may be a little off topic...but I've never gotten any Linux distro to install in VPC... my experience is that VPC is designed for Microsoft's OS' only (well...duh :P).

I should try a linux distro in VMWare when I can be bothered...


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 1:46 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Sep 01, 2006 10:04 pm

Posts
1022

Location
The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS
Quote:
So far, I've got Redhat 6.1, but I can't install software on it... my main desktop machine is a P3(450MHz) w/ 128MB RAM, a 20GB HD, and Windows Fundamentals with VPC 2004. Is there a version I can get that'll work on it?

8-)
That maybe the problem because it may fall bellow the minimum speed. I would really not reccomend any virtualization without 512 megs of ram or 1 gightz processor...

_________________
Image
Part Time Troll - HPC Enthusiast - Spelling Master - Old Fart


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:53 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Oh dear, I'm an idiot...

The machine I'm trying to simulate on is a new laptop, 120GB hard disk, 1GB RAM, Vista Business, with VPC 2007 on it. The other machine, I was looking for an old system to run on it native.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:59 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
marktuson wrote:
The other machine, I was looking for an old system to run on it native.

Okay, I'm afraid I can't help you anymore with your VPC issue, but if you're looking for a distro for your old system, I'd recommend something with a lightweight desktop such as Debian with Xfce or something along these lines.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 2:23 pm 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:53 pm

Posts
342

Location
Saint-Henri, Montréal, Québec

Favourite OS
Chicago (hometown pride)
I must say that a VMware serial is worth every penny, and you are hearing this from an avid eMule fan.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:05 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Mon Feb 12, 2007 12:50 pm

Posts
973

Favourite OS
First Edition UNIX
Hi again, sorry about the bump, but I've got an added question.....

I've got RedHat 6.1 to work in VPC, and was wondering if I can set it up to access the Internet through the host (like with the Win98 VM). I know what to do from the host, but what should I do through the VM?

Also, will Firefox work on such an old version of Linux? :D

Thanks.

_________________
Have a day.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 7:30 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
marktuson wrote:
Hi again, sorry about the bump, but I've got an added question.....

I've got RedHat 6.1 to work in VPC, and was wondering if I can set it up to access the Internet through the host (like with the Win98 VM). I know what to do from the host, but what should I do through the VM?

Also, will Firefox work on such an old version of Linux? :D

Thanks.

Well, if you set it to NAT or bridged and RedHat recognizes the DEC 21140 LAN card, you should get an IP address if you have a DHCP server somewhere (don't know if VPC can set one up by itself). Otherwise, you'd assign it one (ifconfig) and then, if that's necessary, point it to your DNS servers (/etc/resolv.conf). As for Firefox, I really don't know. IIRC, RedHat 6.1 is from 2000 or something. And I can only repeat it: You aren't doing yourself any favours by running such an old and obsolete distro just because VPC has its issues with newer distros. RH6.1 is very old, i.e. it uses the 2.2-series kernel and you'll probably have huge problems getting additional software to run on it, either because newer apps won't work on it due to obsolete libraries and stuff or, if trying to find apps of the same age, because the servers and repositories are long dead.

Seriously, you won't get very far with an old and obsolete distro, especially not if you're doing this for learning purposes. You'll probably encounter many issues trying to follow instructions on the net that are meant for newer distros and so on. The situation could be comparable to someone trying to get Office 2007 and stuff to work on Windows 98. If you want my advice (if you don't, I apologize for having bothered you :wink:), use innotek VirtualBox, it's free, works well and supports newer distros such as OpenSuse 10.3 or Debian Etch. It's a pity that newer distros (those with kernel 2.6 seem to be affected) don't work correctly in VPC, but using an obsolete distro will not get you very far either. I'd not even put too much hope in getting Firefox to run, if at all, a really old version may work.

But if that doesn't bother you, then you'll be fine of course. :)


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Nov 23, 2007 8:23 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Fri Aug 18, 2006 4:30 pm

Posts
1524

Favourite OS
Mac OS 9.2.2
AnDrEwP182 wrote:
I must say that a VMware serial is worth every penny, and you are hearing this from an avid eMule fan.
I agree. If you are gonna do a lot of emulation work, buying a VMWare License is the way to go

_________________
Image
Mozilla/5.0 (Macintosh; U; PPC; en-US; mimic; rv:9.3.2) Clecko/20120101 Classilla/CFM
"Stupid can opener! You killed my father, and now you've come back for me!"


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS