Page 1 of 1

Rhapsody

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 4:13 am
by fzajac
At first, please remember that i'm *nix/darwin n00b

Ive tryed to install Rhapsody DR2 (release 5.1) x86 in VMWare and i got this just after going in the black and white setup GUI:
Image
And i can not type anything
Please help

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:32 am
by longview
Kernel panic = hard crash.

The only emulator that will run Rhapsody DR2 that I know of is VPC 4.
OPENSTEP will run in Parallels if you disable VT extensions.

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:43 am
by fzajac
longview wrote:Kernel panic = hard crash.

The only emulator that will run Rhapsody DR2 that I know of is VPC 4.
OPENSTEP will run in Parallels if you disable VT extensions.
Well ive got rid of the problem: just resized RAM from 256 to 64 and it doesnt display kernel panic anymore
But now i have another one: if the emulated cd-rom drive is on scsi 0:0 what should i do because it doesn't detect it... Have i selected a wrong driver? (if so what is the right one for VMWare) Or i just have to type the path to scsi 0:0? (just i dont know how because if i type sd0d0 it will display error)

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 5:54 am
by longview
You can use a max of 192 mb RAM.
If you havent installed it yet, you should just get VPC 4.2 and install it there, VMWare has a lot of problems running these OSes, mouse doesn't work right, very difficult to get useable graphics etc.

Primary/Secondary IDE controller or something like that probably works, but I doubt you'll get it to run off SCSI.
Also, the CD should be IDE0:1, HDD should be IDE0:0.

Edit: Parallels might work, I tried it once and it didn't complete the install, but you could try giving it a shot.
I can post the config file I used for OPENSTEP in Parallels if you'd like.

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:08 am
by empireum
FYI, I've got OpenStep running beautifully in Parallels here, but I've not been able to install Rhapsody DR2 in VMware and Parallels either. Your best bet is either Virtual PC 4.x or Bochs (I know it's painfully slow).

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:22 am
by fzajac
Now im getting this, both in VMWare and VPC:
Image

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:32 am
by Grisa
Actually Rhapsody DR2 runs in VirtualBox 1.5 pretty good.

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2007 6:45 am
by fzajac
Grisa wrote:Actually Rhapsody DR2 runs in VirtualBox 1.5 pretty good.
Where have you mounted hard drive (primary master or primary slave or secondary slave) and what driver have you used?

Posted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 10:54 pm
by evolver56k
Rhapsody DR2 can be installed in VMWare Workstation & Fusion with good stability.
There are drivers for the emulated VMXNet, VMWareFB, Sound and VMMouse.


VMWareFB Driver
VMMouse Driver
VMXNet Driver
Sound Driver

Create an ISO with these drivers on it and use Configure.app to add your hardware drivers.

Re: Rhapsody

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:18 pm
by mrintel
I have tried Rhapsody in many emulators, and what I have found is that

1 - VMWare almost always works
2 - VirtualPC doesn't work at all
3 - Parallels works with OPENSTEP and Rhapsody

If you can't get an emulator to work, then try and get a PC and load it onto there.
Sorry I can't be of more help

Re: Rhapsody

Posted: Mon Jul 27, 2009 10:28 pm
by Andy
Although your post was useful, this topic is over 1 1/2 years old so I can only guess the author has abandoned it. Please don't post in topics over 90 days old in future (it is a forum rule).

Re: Rhapsody

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:49 pm
by tpzahm
Andy,

First of all, thank you for your service to the community.

I'd like to ask you to re-consider the 90-days-old rule. I not only found Mr. Intel's comment useful, but attaching it to an existing thread made it easier for me to find. I'm a newbie here, and have a lot of catching up to do. Fewer threads are better for this purpose.

Cordially,
Tom

Re: Rhapsody

Posted: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:52 pm
by monkey56657
Andy wrote:Although your post was useful, this topic is over 1 1/2 years old so I can only guess the author has abandoned it. Please don't post in topics over 90 days old in future (it is a forum rule).
And for the guests who come along from a search engine? They might want to hear the additional answer.

Re: Rhapsody

Posted: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:15 am
by unixphreak
If anyone wants it i have a vmware fusion image with a working Rhapsody DR2 installation. I can install a few apps for it also.