BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 0d, 1h, 52m | CPU: 51% | MEM: 2034MB of 2917MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

PostPost subject: Complete Newbie        Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:49 pm 
Donator

Hi all,

I am a complete newbie to linux but i am egar to learn. I am looking at creating a server to share files, printers, http and ftp. Which distro would be best to use as a server? and how simple is it to share files and printers to a windows network?

Any help would be most appreciated

The Number One HTTP Server On The Internet

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:57 pm 
Donator

Well, a server generally requires active maintenance for security patches and such. For that reason, I would rule out Gentoo for you, being that it in itself is a lot of work keeping up to date.

Slackware is a good choice. Installation is a matter of picking what exactly you want from a menu and you go... aside from having to partition the drives yourself. Security is tight from the get go, and the layout is simple and practically unchanged since Slackware 1.0, so support and questions are more than readily available.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:21 pm 
FTP Access

If you are new to Linux I would choose something with a simplified installation method. Against my better judgement I will recommend Ubuntu Server Edition (http://www.ubuntu.com/products/WhatIsUb ... veredition). Though I have never used it, I have used Ubuntu and it is simple and user friendly.

Personally I would choose Debian but it isn't as easy (though I believe their new installation method will allow you to choose a server installation) for beginners.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 4:29 pm 
FTP Access

The Ephemeral between existance and non-existance: AKA "being"

Favourite OS
Rhapsody, BeOS