BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 5d, 3h, 21m | CPU: 36% | MEM: 2092MB of 5253MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

PostPost subject: FreeBSD, Beryl and vm, need help.        Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:01 am 
FTP Access

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
Ok, i am a noob at *nix stuff, so is it possible to run Beryl on Freebsd? I am running it on a Virtual Machine, and recently heard about Beryl. I am running the KDE desktop currently, with KDM at login.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:05 am 
Donator

It is possible to run Beryl on FreeBSD, yes, but probably not in a VM as the emulated graphics adapter will probably have problems with it. That being said, I don't know that for sure, I could just imagine it.

But, allow me one question: Why don't you start out with Linux if you want Beryl? That is not to say I dislike FreeBSD, for god's sake, no. It's just Beryl should be substantially easier to set up on Linux than on *BSD AFAIK.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:24 am 
FTP Access

Favourite OS
Longhorn 4015.lab06
1 If i download it (linux) i need a version that will be under ~3.5GB iso and will install under ~4.1GB (my laptop needs more hdd space, my other computer has 1MB of video memory)

And 2 questions, 1, besides yod' m 3d, is there another thing similar?
2, Can i extend the video mem on the other computer? Its a Dell Inspiron 2200 and i cant figure out the graphics card ot gpu. the bios says it only has 1 MB.

Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Sun Aug 19, 2007 6:34 am 
Donator

Dr Eggman wrote:
1 If i download it (linux) i need a version that will be under ~3.5GB iso and will install under ~4.1GB (my laptop needs more hdd space, my other computer has 1MB of video memory)

And 2 questions, 1, besides yod' m 3d, is there another thing similar?