BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 1h, 33m | CPU: 41% | MEM: 2094MB of 7617MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 PostPost subject: What I can do with Dakota system?        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 4:48 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:55 pm

Posts
70

Location
Poland
Dakota isn't exactly an OS, it's a service environment used in some IBM computers. I've found it in my IBM PowerPC ThinkPad Power Series 850 and probably in IBM Power Series 850 desktop, but I don't know exactly how to access it on desktop machine.
To access Dakota in IBM TP Power Series, go to Easy Setup and type blindly:
eatabug
Screen should turn to console.
Dakota can read/write directly from/to computer's memory and launch routines from specified memory locations. It's a powerful ability, but I don't know how to use it, because I don't know much about PowerPC 603e CPU / Memory internals.
To navigate between directories, Dakota uses commands similar to DOS It can read FAT floppies and ISO9660 CDs.
Batch files are *.6MD.
Supported executables: 6XE, 601 or IMG.
Are there any executables in these formats on the Internet?

There is also a virtual ROMDrive V:, where Dakota resides. There's a program to display BMP bitmaps and play WAV sounds.
I don't have a SCSI HDD in this laptop, so I'm going to use this environment to do simple tasks, for example reading documents from CD (i've prepared a program, which converts PDF to BMP sequence, resizes them and prepares to burn on CD). But - there's another problem: No ERRORLEVEL, no PAUSE command to use in batch files...
Is there any way to read keys and use them in IF ... GOTO instructions in 6MD batch files?

_________________
abandonware collector


Top  Profile  WWW
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:32 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
Offline

Joined
Tue Jul 31, 2007 4:17 pm

Posts
324
I wish my computer had console built into to the bios.


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 9:57 am 
Reply with quote
Permanently Banned
Offline

Joined
Mon Dec 11, 2006 3:09 am

Posts
463
I've never worked with a firmware on an IBM PowerPC machine, but is it in anyway similar to OpenFirmware on a Macintosh?

PS: Pong in OpenFirmware = fun :D


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 10:57 am 
Reply with quote
FTP Access
User avatar
Offline

Joined
Wed Oct 04, 2006 11:02 pm

Posts
514
Isn't that one of the PowerPCs that could run NT PPC?


Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 7:33 pm 
Reply with quote
Donator
Offline

Joined
Sat Sep 30, 2006 5:00 pm

Posts
3557
moonlit wrote:
Isn't that one of the PowerPCs that could run NT PPC?

Yes, that's one of the reasons I myself am looking for one of those.


Top  Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 




Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  

All views expressed in these forums are those of the author and do not necessarily represent the views of the BetaArchive site owner.

Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group

Copyright © 2006-2018

 

Sitemap | XML | RSS