changing boot screens

Discussions about *nix and Other Operating Systems should go in this forum.
dirtwarrior
FTP Access

changing boot screens

Post by dirtwarrior »

I want to change the boot screen and icons in windows 2000. I would like to change it where windows is installed the new things are installed also. The problem is I have never done it before and really dont know to do it.
Can someone give me a step by step tutorial, please?

sp4rkbr
FTP Access

Post by sp4rkbr »

I found this

http://www.littlewhitedog.com/content-9.html

Maybe it can help.

dirtwarrior
FTP Access

Post by dirtwarrior »

I saw that before. This only works after windows is installed. But thanks for looking.
I wanted it to install while windows is installing.

hounsell

Post by hounsell »

Im not quite sure about exactly what you want but i think you mean you want to change it from installation. In which case, you would:

1. Copy the contents of the CD to somewhere you can edit the files, or edit the ISO using a utility like UltraISO and extract the NTOSKRNL.EX_ file in the i386 folder. Then use the expand command in the command line to extract it into NTOSKRNL.EXE. This is the file described in the tutorial above that you would edit.
You use the expand command like:

Code: Select all

expand x:\NTOSKRNL.EX_ x:\NTOSKRNL.EXE
2. To change icons, most are contained within shell32.dll, which is contained within SHELL32.DL_ in the i386 directory of the CD. Again use the expand command, and edit the icons using ResHacker and an icon editing tool.

3. Then use the makecab command at the command line to convert your files back into compressed cab files.
This is done like this:

makecab x:\NTOSKRNL.EXE x:\NTOSKRNL.EX_
If it asks, overwrite the existing file.

4. Place these files back with the others on a new CD or insert the back into the ISO using UltraISO and save.[/code]

blahsucks-two
FTP Access

Post by blahsucks-two »