BetaArchive Logo
Navigation Home Screenshots Image Uploader Server Info FTP Servers Wiki Forum RSS Feed Rules Please Donate
UP: 3d, 11h, 7m | CPU: 10% | MEM: 2657MB of 4289MB used
{The community for beta collectors}

PostPost subject: A Decent Torrent Application In Linux        Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 5:10 pm 
I have been using Ubuntu Linux for about 3 years now as my main Operating System and for that time I have been searchin for a decent Torrent application. Recently I think I have found my fix in Transmission. This application was initially created for OS X but it carried over to linux very well, and it is by far the cleanest, most efficent torrent application I am yet to find for Linux, if anyone else has any other applications that you think work better please post below.

PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 6:41 pm 
Donator

I've been using Azureus for years, on both Windows and Linux (being a Java application, it works just about everywhere). I find it highly customizable, even though it's a little heavy (it couldn't be that heavy as it worked perfectly fine on my old Palomino).

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 7:14 pm 
Donator

I use Azureus as well, although it is indeed a bit heavy. But foir the features it has, I am willing to accept that.

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 5:41 am 
yeah, the reason I'm siding with Transmission with opposition to Azuerus is that I am running all of my torrents off of an old Pentium 3 server box with 512 MB of RAM and has trouble handling a full featured GNOME Desktop not even counting how hard it is to run a heaving program, such as Azuerus based in Java.

PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:05 am 
Donator

Erm... Are you saying you run a full-blown GNOME desktop on a server? Why the hell would you do that?

Top  Profile
 PostPost subject:        Posted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 6:34 am 
Administrator

Favourite OS